10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,081 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #154

Aug 242013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,492 miles
While driving the 2009 Ford Escape down highway, experienced a brief lurch then complete and immediate loss of throttle control. Engine speed decreased to approx. 1000 RPM making it impossible to continue driving and forcing an emergency stop on shoulder. While stopped on shoulder, engine was completely unresponsive to throttle, and remained roughly idling at 1K rpms. Shut off engine, and restarted the vehicle. After restarting, throttle control appeared to be working normally. There were no obvious symptoms immediately prior to the failure: Engine appeared to be running fine, and throttle control was working normally until the incident. The unexpected loss of throttle control and corresponding decrease in vehicle speed was disorienting, and could have easily resulted in an unsafe situation or accident if surrounding traffic were heavier or driver had panicked. Vehicle was diagnosed by dealer as having a "failing throttle body". codes retrieved were P2111 and P2135, and pinpoint tests showed that "the throttle actuator control motor is failing". throttle body assembly was replaced.

- Coon Valley, WI, USA

problem #153

Aug 172013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 82,100 miles
Vehicle stalled while driving down highway at 60mph. Happened again a week later- three times in same trip. Had to pull off side of road, put in park and turn off engine and restart each time. Trouble code P2111 indicated defective throttle body. Internet search showed this issue is under investigation. Ordered new part from dealership and dealer informed me it is on backorder for an undetermined amount of time due to high volume of replacements. In the meantime I cannot drive my vehicle.

- Shoals, IN, USA

problem #152

Jan 032012

Escape

  • 34,311 miles
First incident 1-3-12, took to Ford dealership, they replaced the throttle body. Then on 8-10-13 the car just died going up my drive way, but it cranked right back up. Then on 8-11-13 the engine quit again going about 10 mph. It cranked right back up. I took it in to Ford dealership on Tuesday 8-13-13 and they could not find anything wrong. I, then saw on the news a report about Ford Escapes stalling and the throttle body issue. This example on the news happened on an expressway. Fortunately they were not hurt. My question is how do I know for sure if the throttle body is bad again on my Escape.? it stalled 2 times while moving, but they could not find anything. I am afraid to drive in heavy traffic.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #151

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 96,733 miles
Running down hwy at and car stalled. Made it to side of road. Sat there 10 min started again and made it home.

- Crandall, TX, USA

problem #150

Aug 052013

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
Same as others, the engine keeps running but will not go do the throttle body actuator not opening.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #149

Aug 212013

Escape

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was merged to the shoulder where it was shut down and restarted. The vehicle resumed normal function but the failure recurred shortly after. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Hurst, TX, USA

problem #148

Aug 012013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
While driving on the freeway the engine dropped to idle and throttle became no responsive. Had to perform evasive maneuvers without power to safely pull over. I was lucky that I was not hit. After calling the dealer service department they informed me that it would likely need to have the throttle body replaced at over $600. This issue has become worse in only a few days and occurs at a variety of speeds. Research on the web leads me to believe that this is a common issue and I am concerned for safety of drivers with all this type of vehicle.

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #147

Aug 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 86,555 miles
Driving down the highway at 60mph when car slowed down to 10-15mph. Had to place my emergency lights on in order not to get hit by passing vehicles and move to the emergency lane. I had to turn off the car in order for the accelerator to work again. After the first incident the vehicle kept on stalling. Took the vehicle to the dealer and it turns out its the throttle body thats malfuctioning. The warranty I purchased does not cover this type of part, I dont even have a year with this vehicle. In doing my research I find out that there has been an investigation on this vehicle on foresaid problem around the time I purchased the vehicle. The investigation is still opened. Investigation number PE13-003. The Ford dealership is charging me close to $700 in order to get this part fixed. They did not provide this information to me I had to look it up myself. They also did not provide me with a renter car I had to purchase one on my own. Its just unfair.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #146

Aug 182013

Escape

  • 74,323 miles
Sunday August 18, 2013 9:30 pm driving back from store on highway 17 wrench showed up on dash and car slowed down and came to a complete stop. I pushed the gas but nothing happened. Traffic was behind me a I feared getting hit. I was able to get to the side of the road to avoid an accident. Turned car off and waited for a few seconds. Turned key in ignition and car started and ran just fine. 8/19/13, driving daughter to school on highway 80 vehicle did the same thing but sputtered twice. Needless to say sheer pandemonium! daughter screaming and crying because highway 80 is very congested and the speed is 55 to 60 mph. Managed to get to side of highway, repeated what I did the night before and car started just fine, was able to get daughter to school and myself to work. 8/20/13, it happened again. On highway 80, got to side of road and started car up again. Got daughter to school and on the way to work car stopped again. Started car again and got to work -- called Ford and took car to shop. Had to start car gain as it slowed down and would only go no more than 5 mph. Car is at shop right now. Waiting for Ford to call me. Car is under warranty as I purchased the extended warranty package.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #145

Aug 152013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 95,517 miles
While driving the engine lost power. I was able to pull over and restarted the engine. I took it to the Ford dealership today and had to have the throttle body replaced. From what I have read this is a common occurrence so why hasn't Ford done anything about it?

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #144

Aug 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 163,433 miles
I was driving my 2009 Ford Escape limited at 60 to 55 mph when there was a lurch and sudden loss of power. I then pulled of the highway and turned off the vehicle and did an inspection to troubleshoot the problem. After 15 minutes the vehicle started back up and I drove it to our local autoparts store to get the trouble code. The code came back as P2112 : throttle actuator control system closed; explanation ECM has detected the throttle plate is at a lower angle than commanded probable cause binding throttle stuck closed.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #143

Aug 152013

Escape

  • 65,000 miles
Vehicle stuck in the intersection waiting for a red light. Engine light kicked on. Error code P2111, throttle stuck. Would been in an accident if on highway. Ford needs to address this issue.

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #142

Aug 132013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 66,700 miles
While entering a main highway from an exit, during acceleration the vehicle began "spluttering" and stalled. Car was turned off and restarted successfully. Again, leaving a parking lot onto a main highway pulling out of median begin "spluttering" and stalled. Car was turned off and restarted successfully. Again, stopped at a red light, when light turned green and began accelerating, car stalled in the middle of the intersection. Car was restarted and took to local dealer for inspection. Found to need a new throttle body. Upon research, found that this has been a frequent complaint. This has the potential to result in fatalities.

- Hollywood, AL, USA

problem #141

Aug 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 37,069 miles
I was driving home from work on route 33 (buffalo, NY highway) that has a lot of ongoing construction. I was in the middle lane of a 3 lane highway when I heard a pop and noticed my speed dropping from 60 to 20 within a matter of 20 to 30 seconds. I immediately turned my flashers on and tried to get over to the shoulder. Unfortunately, merging traffic was approaching from an on ramp with one of the vehicles being an ambulance with lights and sirens on. The ambulance had to swerve in order to miss striking my SUV. I had a hard time trying to reach the shoulder of the road due to no throttle and construction signs and sand bags surrounding the shoulder. Even the towing company had a hard time trying to reach my vehicle and had to move construction signs, sand bags and debris in order to tow my SUV, I had absolutely no warning signs that this was going to happen. This was a dangerous and terrifying experience. Of course, my warranty expired and the repair was not covered by the Ford dealer. So along with being placed in a dangerous and horrific situation, I am also out $650, this matter needs to be addressed immediately before someone gets seriously hurt.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #140

Aug 082012

Escape

  • 97,000 miles
I was driving on the NJ parkway when all of a sudden I had no gas peddle. I was doing 75 at time and truck started bucking was able to pull to side of road.. restarted it and went on my way. Since then I have stalled everyday to many to count.

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #139

Aug 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
My 2009 Ford Escape XLT (this is my third Escape, and the only one that has ever caused me any problem) has never accelerated as it should, from the day I drove it new off of the lot. It has always hesitated, lurched, lunged, jerked; most frequently when accelerating from a full stop or a rolling stop. It had never "limped" until at approximately 50K miles, when the throttle body failed twice while traveling at approx. 50mph (wrench symbol lit up). After having the throttle body replaced by my dealer in late June-early July 2013, the lunging, jerking, hesitating continued. On 8/8/13, when accelerating from a rolling stop, the vehicle died while attempting a "Michigan left" onto a 4-lane highway (this time the battery light and service engine lights came on). If the traffic signal for oncoming traffic had not been green, I was at risk of being struck by several vehicles traveling at rates of speed up to 70mph. I was able to let the vehicle roll back into the turn lane; turned it off and then back on; but acceleration is still not operating as it should. The rpms are all over the place. I feel as though I am driving a "death trap". this is a very urgent issue and must be addressed and repaired by Ford swiftly and at no cost to the consumer. I had to pay almost $600 to have the throttle body replaced (including a rental vehicle). This is unacceptable and extremely dangerous. If this problem is not satisfactorily repaired at no cost to me when I attempt to take it to my dealer again (I'm considering having it towed because I'm so afraid to drive it), I will never purchase another Ford vehicle.

- Commerce Township, MI, USA

problem #138

Jul 102013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to throttle body problems. The consumer stated as she merged onto the highway, the vehicle totally shut down. The wrench light illuminated, she applied the brake and turned off the key and re-started the engine. The consumer was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer, but continued to experience the failure. An inspection revealed the throttle body needed to be replaced. However, the part was on back order.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #137

Jul 082013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
2009 Ford Escape has a very dangerous defect with its throttle body component. While driving during normal operation, the vehicle will go into limp mode without warning. A yellow wrench appears in the console indicating a maintenance problem. The engine will reduce to idle speed, the foot accelerator is inoperable during this incident. When in the idle mode, the vehicle speed is reduced to about 5 mph. The vehicle has to be turned off, then restarted.in order to reboot the system. The first two incidents happened on consecutive days. A week later, it happened again. Today, it happened 4 times, once on the busy interstate highway. Ford claims this is a common problem, therefore the replacement part is on back-order. I ordered my part (express) thru the local Ford dealership about a month ago and top date the part has not arrived. Ford is unable to give N estimated arrival date of the replacement part.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #136

Aug 042013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
This has been happening for about 6 weeks. I have taken it into the dealership 4 times. I told them it suddenly stutters and slows down and it won't respond to gas pedal. I have to stop, turn off, and restart. It is intermittent and always in traffic it seems. I have almost been rear ended several times. It also revved up to 10mph while sitting in park without foot on gas pedal. We told them it was the throttle, but the computer did not pick up the code. I feel it is very dangerous and I refuse to drive it unless the throttle is fixed. This needs to be a serious recall! I hear they cannot get throttle parts. I will never buy a Ford again if this is not taken care of and I have been loyal for 30 years.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #135

Jul 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 68,965 miles
I was driving home on I-95 South and as I was exiting to go West on I-495 my Ford Escape lost all acceleration. I was extremely lucky that there wasn't much traffic around me and I was able to drift over to the shoulder and come to a stop.

- Columbia, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »