10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,454 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #21

Jun 042018

Escape

  • miles
2 weeks after I purchased my 2016 Ford Escape, the radio started to turn off and on, then randomly started changing stations on its own. Also, when the bluetooth is in use, after ending a call the screen would freeze. I would then need to turn off the vehicle and take the key out of the ignition to sort of reset but now that doesn't work anymore bc the screen is black and the radio only works. The cameras do not work either.

- Midlothian, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 282019

Escape

  • 22,000 miles
Factory remote start stopped working due to low battery. Now that battery is replaced, remote start only lasts 10 seconds before shutting off. Also, when car is started manually, windshield wipes hop for no apparent reason.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #19

May 092019

Escape

  • 54,000 miles
I was driving on my way to pick child up from daycare and car would not move even when giving gas. It felt as if it wouldn't shift. I took it to car dealership and they are saying that my transmission is going out. This car was bought brand new and as only 60,000 miles if that and now they are telling me my transmission is out and it will cost me $9,500 to $6,000 I find it funny that they called a recall on Focus from that year on issues with transmission and now mine is out and some how it is my fault. If I would have know there was onging problem I wouldn't have bought the car I don't have that kind of money that why I bought new thought I would be getting dependable care for me drive my child around in. This happen in toledo, Ohio while driving I had to have care towed to car lot where is currently sitting because I can not afford to fix something that Ford knows it has issue with. I don't have problem with paying for something that is my fault but this is not it especially since I keep seeing and hearing that people are having issue with Ford Escapes and other Ford products.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #18

Mar 012019

Escape

  • 43,734 miles
This complaint is a follow-up to one filed earlier (11181564). The problem is now solved this wire issue is not the one in the tsb and not currently in a recall. This vehicle at approximately 43,000 miles produced the same symptoms as the tsb 13-12-12. Motor suddenly stalling, backfire sometimes, rough running, loss of power, etc. The wire harness had worn through the wrap and eventually one of the wires in the bundle atop the motor made intermittent contact with a part of the motor. This caused the PCM to throw numerous codes and disable critical safety systems. Random, erratic and unpredictable. Wire bundle aligned with the fuel rail begins at the driver side of the motor. At the point where it begins up come to the motor there is a post (aluminum, top, front, drivers┐ side of motor). This wire bundle was not sufficiently protected from chaffing. The remainder of the wire is well secured and insulated but this point is literally and accident waiting to happen. This was very difficult to find as the problem as it was so intermittent. Not covered under 5/60 warranty and my dealer charged me $318. In total I've spent over $600 the getting this figured out and resolved. This last breakdown placed my family in great danger as there was no safe place to get off the road (70 mph interstate with little shoulder and merging state highway). This was the third time having to tow this vehicle for this. I am certain others will experience this failure and I hope no one gets hurt. In my case it also disabled the restraint systems and airbags when it occurred.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #17

Dec 242018

Escape

  • 48,500 miles
My 2016 Ford Escape caught fire on 12/24/2018. The car was sitting in an open parking space and had not been driven since the afternoon the day before. Note the engine was cold when this happened. In the early afternoon on 12/24/2018, my husband was walking out to our Ford Escape when he noticed smoke was coming from the front of the Escape. When he arrived at the car, witnesses said the Escape had started smoking on its own and they had heard noises coming from under the hood of the car. The fire department arrived on the scene and extinguished the fire. According to the fire report completed by the fire department, the cause of the fire was determined to be malfunctioning electrical. We of course spoke to the ken grody Ford where we bought the car and they told us because this was a fire, it has to go through the Ford general counsel. We file the claim with the customer service department of Ford. We were told that the general counsel would respond within 15 days. That time frame has come and gone. We have complaint many times to the customer service. However, Ford has failed to respond to us. Aaa has towed the car to a secure site as the car was a health and safety issue where it was sitting. Aaa has been trying to get Ford to come and inspect the car so that the actual cause of the fire can be determined. But Ford will not respond to them either. What is most disturbing to me and should be disturbing to everyone, is Ford's lack of concern as to what caused this fire. Had the fire started fifteen minutes later, my family would have been in the car. Not only would my family had been in harms way but so would of the others around us. This car should not be parked in a garage. Ford needs to rectify this problem.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 172018

Escape

  • 30,000 miles
The Escape has incidents where all electrical power stops. All lights, ignition system, everything electrical stops while driving. Sometimes at highway speed, sometimes at very low speed, sometimes when turning, or going straight. After coasting to a stop and placing the transmission in park the vehicle then starts again. After repeated trips to canby Ford, the local dealership, they can find nothing wrong, and the car has not recorded any code indicating a problem. This happened once on a local freeway at rush hour which terrified my wife. It has never happened while parked and running. This has happened approximately 10 times. The below date is just the most recent incident.

- Molalla, OR, USA

problem #15

Feb 012018

Escape

  • miles
While parked, the radio randomly shuts off when the car is started. Radio station buttons have to be pressed numerous time to change the station, whether parked or in motion.

- Hope Mills, NC, USA

problem #14

Jan 122018

Escape

  • 51,000 miles
While driving on 85N in atanta, ga, while roughly driving at a speed of 65mph in the middle lane at 7am on Friday, January 12, 2018, the battery light came on and the car shut completely off and with no warning! I take excellent care of the car with routine maintenance and have approximately 51K miles on it. For this car to turn off in the middle of morning rush hour traffic on an atlanta major interstate, not only endangered my life but the lives of hundreds of other drivers! thankfully there was a gap in the traffic behind me so I was able to guide the car out of the middle of the interstate since while the car was still in movement but with no power. I barely made on to the shoulder. After sitting on the shoulder for over 30 mins, waiting on a tow truck, the car finally started back up. I still had it towed to the Ford dealership where I purchased it and have my maintenance done on the car. After having the car for 3 days I was told that they can not "duplicate the error". diagnostics were run on the car multiple times and no issues were found. This is unacceptable. It is not normal for a car to turn off in the middle of a major interstate and for the cars computer to not have a record of the shut down. In addition to that, what if it happens again but I am injured or injure someone else! I've looked at other complaints for the same type of vehicle and other motorists have experienced the same type of problem; the car turning off while driving. Something is seriously wrong with the 2016 Ford Escape and Ford isn't properly addressing the problems!

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #13

Jan 062018

Escape

  • 20,000 miles
Rear end knocking sound after and during backing up, also during low speed. The electronic radio, sync3, audio screen will not turn on in mildly cold temperatures (20F degrees).

- Eagle River, AK, USA

problem #12

Sep 222017

Escape

  • miles
Ignition switch failure. The engine does not turn on when ignition switch pressed. Took the car to Ford dealer to fix and they acknowledged the problem and stated there is no fix at this time. To go home and wait to receive a letter once they have a fix to the problem. In the meantime, you are on your own!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 012016

Escape

  • miles
2016 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to several mechanical and electrical issues that needs to be addressed to the manufacturer. The consumer stated the dealer did not provide the vehicle that was agreed upon. But, provided another vehicle that was not conducive to the consumer's medical or personal requests. Updated 10/2/2017

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #10

Jan 132017

Escape

  • 10,000 miles
While driving around 40mph, vehicle cut off and displayed a message: Transmission not in park. After pulling over and restarting vehicle, the volume on radio moved up and down on its own while transmission in the parked position. Later that day vehicle cut off within 30 seconds of using remote starter. Dealer unable to duplicate problem or find any diagnostic codes.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #9

Sep 032016

Escape

  • 10,000 miles
I was traveling 60 mph when the engine started shaking violently, I lost the ability to accelerate and the check engine light came on with an error message of "engine fault". once I made it to the side of the road, the engine idled down to 400 and shut off. I tried to crank it up again and the engine immediately started jumping violently. Vehicle was towed to the Ford dealership and they said it was recall 16B32.

- Winnabow, NC, USA

problem #8

Sep 142016

Escape

  • 6,610 miles
Was driving and vehicle began shuddering violently and service engine now came on and vehicle engine died. Thank goodness I was not on the highway yet and four people helped to push me out of the way.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #7

Sep 072016

Escape

  • 12,900 miles
While driving at highway speeds (roughly 70 mph) my vehicle completely turned off with no warning and said "engine fault. Service now". by the grace of god I did not get rear ended. I successfully restarted the vehicle and made it home. The same thing happened the next morning, this time on city streets going roughly 20 mph during rush hour. Against, I was beyond lucky to have not gotten injured or worse and there was no warning again.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #6

Aug 142016

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,900 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Escape. The contact stated that after the air conditioner was activated, the dashboard vibrated and an abnormal noise emitted from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician informed the contact that there was an hole from which rodents entered and destroyed the fan. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,900. The VIN was not provided. Updated 10/13/16

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #5

Aug 022016

Escape

  • 6,000 miles
I purchased a 2016 Ford Escape in January 2016 on 8-2-16 I was on my way to work all of a sudden my car slowed down in traffic a then stopped. Make a long story short I made it to work Ford sent a tow truck to my job to pick up me and my truck

- Alsip, IL, USA

problem #4

Jun 212016

Escape

  • 3,000 miles
Takata recall. Dashboard cluster. All dashboard instrument not work. Signal for door gas seatbelt speedometer. The vehicle was in motion and dashboard when dead.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #3

May 292016

Escape

  • 1,600 miles
We didn't have the vehicle three weeks and had to have it towed to the dealership due to not starting. They had the vehicle for a week and couldn't figure it. They cleared the code, after keeping it for week. 6 days later it was towed for the issues, they currently still have the vehicle and they say they are not sure why it's happening. They can't get it to throw the codes, it works fine for them. Both time we went out to start the car after it sitting in the garage over night.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #2

Mar 012016

Escape

  • 300 miles
Periodically (couple times a week), the rear camera view does not turn off when the car is in drive. During the day, the fault means temperature, audio and navigation controls can't be used and the constant rear camera view in the center of the dashboard is distracting when the car is in forward motion. At night, the fault is dangerous because the glare of headlights from following cars dominates the large center of the internal controls. Several attempts by the dealership (to reset, reboot, update software) have not resolved the problem.

- Lake Oswego, OR, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »