10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,947 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Mar 152013

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I've had multiple problems with this car. First the car shifts hard approx between 10 mph and 20 mph, the car lunges, stalls, then shifts hard into gear. When it first happened, I took the car to a certified mechanic and they did a complete transmission flush... the car ran smooth for about 10 days, then it started leaking transmission fluid which resulted in my radiator being ruined. Replaced the radiator and a plug in the transmission. ($1,800) the car then ran fine up this past Sunday. The car as me and my wife were driving home from a 400 mile trip with the ac running, the wrench light came on and the car started lunging and shifting hard again. I exited off the highway and the check engine light came on... the car started shifting hard between 2nd and 3rd gear and making a loud clunk noise. Took it to the mechanic and he did another transmission flush on Monday June 16, 2014... two days later and the car still lunges, stalls, and shifts hard. I called Ford and they said because the car is out of warranty, there's nothing they could do. I even asked them because there are so many complaints about the 2006 transmission, they still couldn't help me. The second problem is the car even though in park, it tends to roll down the driveway into the street in the middle of the night/ early morning... this happened a couple of times... told Ford about the problem, and because the car is out of warranty there's nothing they could do... the last problem is every once and a while the car doesn't shift into reverse... told Ford about the problem and once again, because the car is out of warranty there's nothing they could do...

- Summit, NJ, USA

problem #32

May 132013

Explorer

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Ford Explorer. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds the vehicle stalled and the check engine light illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Ozone Park, NY, USA

problem #31

May 052010

Explorer

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Explorer. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 40 mph, there was a loud noise in the front end as the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact had already taken the vehicle to an authorized dealer who replaced the radiator twice but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the radiator and engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure multiple times and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000. The VIN was not available.

- Henry, IL, USA

problem #30

Feb 022011

Explorer

  • 80,000 miles
While traveling on the highway the vehicle suddenly lost power as if it stalled. Engine was running but vehicle had no power. Vehicle had to be turned off and restarted to regain power. Always feared being rear ended or stalling on railroad tracks. Dealer determined it was electronic throttle control and replaced it. The vehicle has not had this malfunction since the repair about 18 months ago.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #29

Mar 022009

Explorer 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Shifting of transmission slams hard on a fast take off, then at 45 or above cycles gears and won't stay in overdrive.

- Portage, IN, USA

problem #28

Feb 112011

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 40,130 miles
Driving at 45 mph, transmission shifted with a jerky motion, first started then.when you first take off it jerks and makes a noise. When you back up it jerks hard enough it whips you body back. Had it checked at a transmission place. They tore it down and found nothing ( $400). Still jerks and shifts rough. Don't know how long it's going to last.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #27

Dec 182013

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 123,031 miles
Dear sir first of all, I would like to state that I am not a us citizen, but, I'm a family man & I feel for others, I own a Ford Explorer 06, and recently I've been noticing that the trans has a mind of it's own, shifting wrongly, jolting into gear is not enjoyable or safe, the other day I was about to have an accident because the trans refused to shift when I tried to accelerate in order to escape a situation of hitting a car next to me, I've looked it up on the internet & found that everybody is complaining of the same issues, you can go for the below site & check www.carcomplaints.com/Ford/Explorer/2006/transmission/transmission_lunges_hard_jolt_when_shifting.shtml the problem is that Ford won't admit that there is something wrong with the transmission, putting peoples life in danger for a few dollars more please fix this as it's very critical & dangerous at the same time [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Riyadh, AL, USA

problem #26

Dec 012008

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Since purchasing this vehicle new in January 2007 the radiator has been replaced twice. Now, in December 2013 with 114000 miles, the radiator is losing coolant and the engine smells of coolant after driving. Most likely the radiator will have to be replaced for the third time.

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #25

Mar 262012

Explorer

  • 97,000 miles
We bought the used vehicle in March 2012 with a 30 day warranty. During the first month, noticed engine slipping (usually around 45 mph). Checked fluids, added coolant and naively thought the problem would go away, and it seemed to for about a month. However, the engine/transmission slippage has gotten much worse since then. We are constantly adding coolant and driving very carefully to avoid a hard jerk in the transmission around 45 mph. When we took it to the local Ford dealership, they said that the "transmission was probably shot" but that they could change the spark plugs "for about $250 each even though that probably wouldn't help." How in the world can a spark plug be this expensive to change? the dealership charged us nearly $200 to run diagnostics for a problem that we now know is related to this particular vehicle. This should have long ago been a recall, and Ford should be ashamed of itself for not fixing the problem sooner.

- Starkville, MS, USA

problem #24

Nov 072007

Explorer

  • 19,000 miles
My son was driving home and the truck started jerking uncontrollably and he couldn't back up so had to call a tow truck. All of the transmission fluid had leaked out due to radiator failure. The truck was off warranty so had to buy a new radiator. In order for the radiator to have a warranty had to buy another part from the Ford place for $200. Got the part and radiator. Within six months to a year, same thing happened, had to have another radiator. Have had three radiators and now this year 2013 leaking again and the radiator that I paid $600 for the radiator place has went out of business so I have to buy another radiator. This is an ongoing problem with this 2006 Ford Explorer XLT and Ford knows about it. I am afraid to drive it half the time, never know when I won't be able to move it if all of the fluid leaks out or may stop in traffic suddenly. Please help us to get Ford to recall these trucks.

- Meridian, MS, USA

problem #23

Sep 182013

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 97,468 miles
Both of these things have been happening over the last 2-3 years but I can not remember exact dates. First my car has been running hot continuously over this period of time which causes me to have to put coolant in at least once every month. I took it to the dealership and they told me this was common with the Explorer but there has not been a recall so I would have to pay out of pocket. They first told me it was the line to the radiator that was leaking so I had it replaced, then next time it was the thermostat and housing that they said was the problem. So I had this replaced. Now today 9/19/2013 I had to replace the radiator. It doesn't matter what I seem to fix this problem continues to occur. Secondly my car jerks into gear when I try to put in gear. They are telling me now I need a transmission but I see this is a recurring problems with many Explorer owners and it doesn't fix the problem either. I don't know what else to do because my car is jerking which causes me to almost hit people or doesn't go into gear fast enough which causes them to almost hit me. Please help!!! these problems first started to occur around 40000 miles. My problem is radiator and transmission.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #22

Aug 152013

Explorer

  • 77,180 miles
While driving at 40 mph car speed went to 0 mph, transmission totally slipped. Second time it has happened. Once I sit there for about 15 minutes on side of road it will they start to work as it should. But it does make loud noises while motor shifts gears. This is a known transmission problem yet no Ford recall. Unacceptable!!!

- Williamstown, NJ, USA

problem #21

Apr 022013

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Transmission disengaged at red light. It started going backwards instead of forward. Had to put into park and then back into drive to get it to drive. Still going on. Now when actually on the road it is getting out of gear when vehicle is at driving speed. Engine revs up to 5000rpms, then down to 1000rpm. Vehicle lunging. Will get hurt I'm sure.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #20

Jul 112013

Explorer

  • 70,000 miles
From July 5th to present my 2006 Ford Explorer truck was toed to the dealership 3 times. Each time it was for the same problem overheating. This has been a constant problem with this car since it was purchased in December 2005. The radiator has been replace twice, the transmission once, the throttle, etc. I have been told that now after the radiator was a replaced and the throttle, etc. At a cost of $2300.the car now needs a new engine and /or gaskets that need replacing. I cannot understand why a car with normal mileage, which was only involved in one minor fender bender.can need so much major work.

- Washington, D.C., DC, USA

problem #19

Jul 122013

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 92,500 miles
I was driving 25 mph and turning left to a small street. I saw an engine light show on, and then the engine stop. At that point, I couldn't turn the wheel, and also it was so difficult for me to stop the vehicle. I had mention this problem at the Ford dealer in greenfield, MA who fixed my ABS break about two weeks ago. A person at the service responded, " that's normal. Our computer does not see other issue beside the ABS." I spend $85 for diagnosis the ABS break problem and spend almost $500 to fix the break. I took my vehicle to a small body shop in my area. This person ran the computer through the vehicle system, and the computer did not shown any problems. Then, I called Ford corporate and tried to get some advice from the company. The company said I should take the vehicle to a different dealer to get other opinion. Meaning that I have to pay another $85 again, and I still do not know I will get an answer or not. My concern, I do not want to cause an accident.

- Winchester, NH, USA

problem #18

Mar 052013

Explorer 8-cyl

  • miles
Upon starting the vehicle it suddenly excelerates. I now keep my foot on the brake at all times immediately following ignition. It has has happened four or five times in the last several months. I have owned the vehicle since 2007 when I purchased it from ocala Lincoln Mercury as a Ford certified vehicle. It had approximately 14,000. Today it has only 54,230 mostly highway. That is less than 7000 miles per year. Itr has regular services at my local for dealer. All of my repair records are obtainable through the Ford Motor Company.

- St. Cloud , FL, USA

problem #17

Sep 092011

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
During a left turn across three lanes of traffic our Explorer would not accelerate. It lurched to start and would not go above 10-15 mph, nearly stalling. We were able to drive the car home but could not get it to go above 20 mph. At speeds 10 - 20 mph it jerked violently. This was a common occurrence at speeds 45 - 60. Moderately accelerating between 45 - 60 mph has caused hard jerks for years with this car prior to it being off warranty. We've taken it to ted britt Ford several times and each time they said there was nothing wrong. We also noted they only put it on the ticket once, the other times telling us they took it off since they didn't have the issue and wouldn't charge us for it. The time mentioned in this incident the dealer offered to split the cost with us due to our previous issues and their inability to fix it. They also did not fix the issue as we still cannot accelerate at speeds 45 - 60 without hard jerking from the engine or transmission. We no longer use this car on the highway because it is dangerous trying to switch lanes or merge on to a highway when the car violently shakes at highway speeds. It would not accelerate and often left us running out of merge lane space without the ability to get into traffic. I have read several such problems with this car and I am surprised nothing has been done about it. We have spent thousands having this car looked at and in failed attempts to fix it.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #16

Mar 182013

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
With only 86,000 miles our Ford Explorer transmission has failed once again. When we had 23,000 miles on our vehicle we noticed the transmission was shifting rather hard and took it to the dealer and they found nothing wrong. At 58,000 miles the transmission engagement was so rough that we had to get it repaired. Since the warranty is only up to 36,000 we decided our best bet is to not take it to the dealer. We had the valve body repaired and it ran fine up until now. 86,000 miles and this vehicle is once again at a repair shop having the transmission fully rebuilt. In the time I have owned this vehicle I have paid over $7,000 to keep it running with regular maintenance, tires, radiator repair, brakes and now the third transmission.

- Hollister, CA, USA

problem #15

Jan 142013

Explorer

  • 87,000 miles
Just like many others who have reported the same issue with their 2006 Ford Explorer, when backing out of the driveway, I put the vehicle in reverse. There was a jerk as the transmission seemed to finally engage. I thought the trans broke at the time? this has happened more then once. I have also experienced the same issue as others with the delayed shifting from 1st to 2nd gear. My Explorer has just 88K miles on it.

- Sparks, NV, USA

problem #14

May 032012

Explorer

  • 72,000 miles
The vehicle was driving at a speed of 40-45 mph and stalled. This again happened on May 25, 2012 while leaving on our vacation. We parked the vehicle and rented one to drive the remaining distance. When taken to a mechanic it was found the throttle body was bad. We have replaced it and in the month of November the vehicle began doing it again. As you drive it will just completely shut off. As the mechanic told us there is no electricity going to the engine and you can coast to the shoulder and restart the vehicle. This will be the 2nd time correcting this problem if this is the true issue. It was read there is a recall on Ford vehicles for that year make but not for the Explorer model. I have contacted Ford and they also stated there is no recall. With the age and low mileage of the vehicle there is no reason this should be happening.

- Franklin, LA, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »