10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,502 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #35

Aug 092019

F-150

  • 60,000 miles
Behavior matches the issues described in Ford recall 16B32. When I accelerate the vehicle the engine occasionally stops accelerating and goes into a failure mode where I cannot accelerate. A few warnings show up on the dashboard related to hill start assist and being disabled and to service advance track. Turning the car off and back on resolves the problem, but this is very dangerous as I'm usually accelerating to get onto a highway where it's not safe to have my vehicle stop. From the description of the recall my vehicle should be included in 16B32 (manufactured between 8/31/15 to 4/27/16 in Kansas City), but Ford tells me my VIN is not listed as affected. This problem has occurred twice now and it is unpredictable in when it will occur. A quick google search of "hill start assist failure" shows a large number of other Ford owners with the exact same problem.

- Excelsior, MN, USA

problem #34

Aug 032019

F-150

  • 100,800 miles
My truck lost complete power on 8/3/19. Several different waning lights came on. Fortunatley, I was lost power on a straight stretch of road at about 30 mph. I was able to "limp" my truck back home. I have a code reader and it showed code P2112 "throttle actuator control system stuck closed". I searched online and found a Ford customer service letter from 2016-2017 addressing this issue with an expiration notice of September 2017. I purchased the vehicle used in December 2016 and was never sent any notice. I find it incredible that Ford knows about a defect that causes a vehicle to lose power suddenly, and addresses it with this bandaid level of service. It is a simple and inexpensive fix. I fixed it myself in less than an hour with a part purchased from Ford that was less than $200. My concern is that Ford did not notify me and will not stand by this dangerous defective issue. They have told me there was an expiration on that letter and they will not help me. Please force them to do an actual recall on this issue before someone is killed! thank you for your time.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #33

Aug 042019

F-150

  • 69,000 miles
My vehicle was in motion at approximately 65 mph when it suddenly entered a limp mode, indicated by multiple dash warning lights and an abrupt loss of power. The vehicle was incredibly unsafe to operate in such condition. Ford has a known problem with the electronic throttle body used on these motors, but has failed to issue a recall on a part that could cause great bodily harm and injury if it should fail in heavy traffic scenarios.

- Benton, CA, USA

problem #32

Jan 182019

F-150

  • miles
It idles rough at stop light sometimes shuts down, radio screen is blank sometimes w radio or phone call. Electrical burning smell enough to make me nauseous. The computer reads no codes. This happens every couple of days, it has been at 2 different shops up to weeks at a time they have changed several parts but none have fixed it.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #31

Jul 032019

F-150

  • miles
Reported my issue already 11229377 but wanted to point out that at a quick glance there are another 30+ NHTSA safety complaints for my same issue. 11022233, 10955596, 11174190, 10870553, 10887486, 11165975, 11150176, 11139022, 11101604, 11048673, 1102997, 11174190 to name a few. Ford has also issues several tsb and ssm for this issue. Tsb16-0139, tsb17-2124, ssm46829, tsb16B23-S1. At what point does NHTSA put pressure on Ford to resolve these issues" will it require a death to be associated to this issue? a fire, accidents" there are also countless online forum posts on this issue. I can find numerous links showing this but I think the sheer number of complaints on here coupled with warranty numbers for this issue should be sufficient to open an investigation. I plan to write a letter to my local news outlets and governor.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #30

Jul 032019

F-150

  • 36,244 miles
Instrument panel lights up with various fault messages related to traction control, downhill descent, etc... within seconds the vehicle begins to stutter, fails to respond to attempts to accelerate by pressing gas peddle, and eventually loses power. Happened twice while travelling at highway speeds resulting in a dangerous scenario of pulling to the side of the highway.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #29

Mar 152019

F-150

  • 56,000 miles
Gas tank fuel pump and fuel pump driver went bad at 56,000 miles. Would start when cranking then idle rough for a few seconds and shut off

- Dalton, GA, USA

problem #28

Feb 252019

F-150

  • miles
In tank fuel pump went out at 60,000 miles.

- Colo Spgs, CO, USA

problem #27

Nov 242018

F-150

  • 50,000 miles
We just took my 2016 F150 ecoboost to West Texas over thanksgiving. Towed under 7500 lbs. Towed completely normal the whole time (15 hours) until the return trip home. About 2.5 hours into my return trip (I was towing without my husband and with two young kids on a back highway with no cell service and absolutely no stops for 2 of those hours😯) I pulled over to see where my next gas station was and my truck died. It would restart but would die again. I finally figure IżM screwed, Iżll try and just hit the gas and go. So I took off and blew through a stop sign and didnżT stop until I reached a gas station, where it died when I stopped.. it was Saturday afternoon and all the repair shops were closed and there werenżT any parts stores open. I finally unplugged the camper, thinking it was draining my battery and started it up and gassed it to get it going and didnżT stop until I reached sonora and camped for the night, about 20 miles away. And then my truck was totally fine after that. I never hooked the camper back up and I had filled up the gas tank and put fuel injection cleaner into the tank and didnżT have any more stalls. The only light that came on when it stalled was the battery light.

- Nacogdoches, TX, USA

problem #26

Nov 052018

F-150

  • 55,100 miles
I just purchased a 2016 Ford F150 lariat crew cab on 11/3/2018 and was coming to work on 11/5/2018 and the it started to idle roughly very slightly when at a stop in traffic, this happend about 3 times each time getting worse and then it did stall on the 4th time and it was a noticeable rough idle.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #25

Jun 092018

F-150

  • 46,000 miles
Complete unexpected loss of power at highway speeds or when accelerating. Has happened repeatedly even after several repairs related to the throttle body by dealer. First happened in the 40,000 mile range and after repairs again at 83,000 miles.

- Brooklyn, WI, USA

problem #24

Jun 102018

F-150

  • 50,000 miles
While traveling on interstate at a speed of 80 mph, my 2016 F-150 eco boost with 50,000 miles went into limp mode due to a faulty electronic throttle body causing me to lose the ability to accelerate and worrying for my family's life as I was decelerating on a busy 4 lane freeway trying to find a way to pull over without being smashed.

- Jefferson, LA, USA

problem #23

Mar 022018

F-150

  • 47,000 miles
I had my truck towed to auto fair Ford and had to have the fuel pump replaced with $100 extended warranty and the car is a year old. After fixing it they were having issues with it not starting and called Ford to trouble shoot the issue. Today 3/2/18 they called to say a mouse or rodent chewed through the wiring. I have lived I'm my home since 1999 and many cars in the drive way this has never happened before. My brother said the wiring is soy based. I called Liberty mutual insurance and comprehensive has a $500 deductible. They will look at the truck 3/5/18 at auto fair Ford in manchester nh. I now have to pay$600 to a vehicle I have owned less then 5 months to auto fair Ford. Seems odd this is happing on a new vehicle

- Deerfield, NH, USA

problem #22

Apr 042017

F-150

  • 47,000 miles
For the last year my car have been leaking fumes and smelling of carbon monoxide. I have complained to mission valley Ford, big valley Ford and all star Ford. When I start the vehicle there is white smoke and a strong fume. They said it's the ecoboost. Secondly the turbo they say has gone out already at 87K miles and I believe the smell and the turbo is connected.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 202018

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
While driving on a busy highway with no warning my F-150 lost power. When this happened the drive power decreased by about 95%, and warnings appeared on the dashboard. These warnings included: Service advance trac, hill descent fault, see manual, airbag fault, and the service wrench. The engine idled roughly and the vehicle had to be turned off. We restarted and the same issues occurred so we parked the vehicle.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #20

Sep 042017

F-150

  • 11,000 miles
I was merging onto a highway and I went to accelerate and li ended up with a complete loss of power, no acceleration, and a flashing wrench on my screen telling me that I was having a hill decent issue and service advancetrac error. As I tried to get off the road once I lost power; the car started shaking violently while at a complete stop.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #19

Aug 132017

F-150

  • 14,000 miles
2016 F150 with the 2.7L ecoboost randomly dies after startup. Sometimes it will die while in motion almost causing an accident. There's no stored codes for the dealer. It's been in the shop 6 times total. The first time they put a crankcase vent sensor and then the 2nd time sparkplugs. It's dies and gone into limp mode multiple times but the dealer can't duplicate the problem so they can't fix it. It started at 9,000 miles and it now has 14,000 miles. I'm pretty sure it's the throttle body but they won't replace it without a code. It has happened randomly from March 2017 until today 8-13-17. I also have a recording saved on my snap-on scan tool of the parameters at the time it went into limp mode.

- Brownwood, TX, USA

problem #18

Oct 072016

F-150

  • 40 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford F-150. While driving at any speed, the vehicle made noises from the engine and transmission areas. The contact stated that the vehicle consumed too much fuel and the air conditioning blew hot air. Also, the oil low pressure warning indicator illuminated and flashed off and on. The contact also stated that the brakes squeaked and the front passenger side tire deflated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (koons Ford in sterling, va) for diagnostic testing. The dealer found nothing wrong with the vehicle; however, the failures recurred several times. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the same dealer several times and, during one of the visits, the engine was replaced without the contact's consent. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures and did not assist. The vehicle was not completely repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 40.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #17

May 112017

F-150

  • 2,100 miles
With a 1/4 tank of gas or 53 miles to E on an 8% down hill grade the truck will not pick up gas from the tank and the engine will shut off as if it ran out of gas.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #16

May 042017

F-150

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was noticed that the fuel tank leaked fuel. The technician diagnosed that the plastic fuel tank was cracked. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the sun hit the tank and caused it to crack. The dealer stated that the failure was not covered by the warranty. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not provided. The contact replaced the tank. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000.

- Tulare, CA, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »