10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,783 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #110

Dec 232008

Focus

  • 100,000 miles
2000 Ford Focus engine fire on the way to work at 4 am. By time the fire department got there it was fully in flames. Burnt evey thing but the trunk before it was put out.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #109

Oct 152008

Focus

  • 14,900 miles
2000 Ford Focus stalls on right hand turns only the problem has become a problem now.

- Port Reading, NJ, USA

problem #108

Dec 222008

Focus

  • miles
My husband and I purchased a 2000 Ford Focus for our 20 year old daughter in October 2008, so she would have a means of getting to college and work. On December 22 2008 she was driving with a friend to go to lunch when smoke began coming out from under the hood. She pulled into a parking lot and got out of the car when there was a loud pop and flames shot out, blowing out the windshield and melting the tires etc. The fire department said it was faulty electrical wiring causing an engine fire.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #107

Aug 022008

Focus

  • 100,000 miles
00 Ford Focus taillights not working. Found that Ford has a recall for the wire harness decklid. Took vehicle to a Ford dealership was told that my vehicle is not part of the recall. I've numerous recalls on this vehicle already. Vehicle was overheating. Was told by Ford dealership that needed a new radiator, cost me $800. When I picked up the vehicle it was still overheating, come to find out I only needed a new water pump.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #106

Aug 262008

Focus

  • 73,450 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 15 mph, the contact smelled a burning odor in the vehicle. He pulled the vehicle over and opened the hood, but did not find any smoke. In addition, the coolant temperature was fine; however, he felt is was extremely hot under the hood. He entered the vehicle and noticed that the service engine light was illuminated on the instrument panel. He has not taken the vehicle to be diagnosed by a mechanic. Through online research, the contact discovered NHTSA campaign id number 02V288000 (electrical system:battery:cables) for the same symptoms he was experiencing in his vehicle. He had also been experiencing loss of power and hesitation in the vehicle while traveling at low speeds. He discovered NHTSA campaign id number 05V030000 (latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch). The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in either recall. The contact believes the vehicle should be included since he is experiencing identical failures. The current and failure mileages were 73,450.

- Harrisville, RI, USA

problem #105

Jul 132008

Focus

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights illuminate intermittently. In addition, the speedometer does not work properly at times. The vehicle will idle roughly or fast and has to be shut off in order for the idling to stop. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 00V302000 (vehicle speed control:cables). The current mileage was 106,000 and failure mileage was 105,000.

- Butler , PA, USA

problem #104

Apr 242008

Focus

  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. The vehicle would hesitate driving at any speed. There are times where the engine will rev and it will raise 2 or 4 rpms but the speed of the vehicle will remain the same. She took the vehicle into a shop and was told that there was a problem in the fuel line and that it needed to be repaired. But she decided to check for recalls before making repairs. She went online and founds recalls for her year make and model. She found a recall that explained her exact problems she called the dealership and was told that the recall did not affect her VIN. She believes that her VIN should be included in the recall. The current and failure mileages were unavailable. Updated 09/10/08 the consumer stated the vehicle hesitates and shuts off. Updated 09/11/08

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #103

Jul 132008

Focus

  • 108,847 miles
I was driving and I came to a stop sign and when I pressed on the gas to drive off my 2000 Ford Focus just died on me. And this happened like a month ago also. I just didn't say anything. But this is very dangerous that my car doesn't tell me when its overheating, it just turns off. That's not safe.

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #102

May 292008

Focus 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
My son was driving a 2000 Focus hatchback. Just entered into a jughandle to make a turn engine light and oil lights went on, car locked up and smoke entered inside the car. He was able to get out of the vehicle and car was on fire. Vehicle was totaled in the fire.

- Westampton, NJ, USA

problem #101

Mar 072008

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 64,288 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. The RPM would sporadically increase up to 3,000 and caused the vehicle to excessively accelerate. The contact had to downshift the gears in order to stop the vehicle. No lights illuminated on the instrument panel prior to the failure. The vehicle is currently being inspected. The speed was not a determining factor with the failure. The powertrain was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 64,288. Updated 04/14/08. Updated 04/11/08

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #100

Aug 202007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. While driving 2 mph, the vehicle shut off. When the contact restarted the vehicle approximately two minutes later, the check engine light illuminated. The contact smelled smoke coming from under the hood. He raised the hood and noticed flames. The fire department extinguished the fire. The weather was dry and approximately 100 degrees at the time. The current and failure mileages were 140,000.

- Jasper, AL, USA

problem #99

Jun 012007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
2000 Ford Focus-air intake manifold (failure). Symptoms, rough idle, stalling, causes computer control system to make engine run lean furthering the problem. On the lower side of the air intake manifold is what appears to be an air intake control valve. The material disintegrates over time which allows excessive air into the air intake manifold, causing the oxygen sensor to detect to much oxygen and sending the computer a signal to increase the amount of fuel. The engine speed at idle decreases to around 500 RPM and stalls. At higher speeds, the engine runs rough and has substantial lack of power and misfiring. Dealer examined vehicle and tried to defraud me by encouraging me to replace numerous items at the same time. Inspection cost was excessive, so I took the vehicle home and raised the hood to investigate further. An air sucking sound was heard and it was discovered this air stop or valve had disintegrated. The way it was discovered was by following the sound to the part and touching it to confirm a vacuum into the engine. When touched the part disintegrated into my hand. I proceeded to temporarily seal the leak with duct tape and the idle increased to normal speed and the vehicle quit stalling. Thereafter, I went to my local kragen auto supply and picked up a rubber hose cap about 3/8 inch diameter internally. Then I took the duct tape off and forced the rubber hose cap over the air valve which sealed the leak. Since then I have not had any problem. The dealer recommendations would have cost me around $1,000 in repairs. The actual repair cost me around 0.35 cents. Fords original equipment part should be on recall because it should not disintegrate. I can understand wear and tear and mechanical failure, however I can not and will not accept product disintegration as acceptable in current automobile technology, and neither should our governments national transportation and safety administration.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #98

Mar 012007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. While driving 60 mph, the engine shut off and all of the warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The contact stated that the failure is similar to the one noted in recall # 00V302000 (vehicle speed control:cables). The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage is 118,000 and failure mileage was 116,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #97

Feb 202007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine malfunctioned: Ford Focus SE year 2000. Purchased from omar car sales in fremont (510)-770-0107 I thought it was the battery. When I came out of raley's at about 4:50 pm, I could not start my car. It was making a clicking sound only. (1) just had major work some of the timing belt, a motor mount, and spark plugs, all new Ford parts were used as replacements. The car had been in excellent condition beforehand. I had only purchased the car a little over a year ago from omar car sales for $6,000, and it was running fine till 3 months ago, when the timing belt went then got fixed in one week. One minor problem with an ignition switch was found when I 1st bought the car, also very minor. (2) butch's automotive Inc in fremont, 510-793-9883 found problem, (the valve seat inside the engine collapsed and failed, pistons came down, ruined my entire motor including oil on parts in process) I reported it to NHTSA, they said I also needed to contact the dealership, and manufacturer of which I did. NHTSA said that if the dealership didn't do anything, to file a complaint. I spoke with jose in service at fremont Ford within 24 hours. He said contact the manufacturer, but the manufacturer tried to claim that there weren't any recalls. I think there are, and if not, I would like a discreet recall started. (3) butch said the cost of repair will be $5,200 for all the damages engine wise, plus a re-built engine being installed. I would like all costs reimbursed to me, as this was a safety hazard. Had this happened on the freeway, I might have died when other cars crashed into my stalled vehicle. I had recalls done at fremont Ford, and my recalls were up to date. Butch says he was able to get a newly rebuilt Ford engine to newark, ca dealership, and my malfunctioned engine was returned to that dealership. (510)-651-5600. I alerted responsible parties of this matter in Ford, local and factory wide.

- Union City,, CA, USA

problem #96

Jan 062006

Focus

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
There is a leak in the resevoir for the radiator, electrical problem with the radio. The radio keeps losing power when going down the road. The master switch for the passenger window does not work, the rear passenger window assembly is broke leaving the window not able to stay up. There is a funny noise when driving down the road. It sounds like a crackly noise. Half of the time the heat will not work.

- King, NC, USA

problem #95

Mar 142004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,079 miles
The contact stated the ignition switch failed three times within a year and a half. The first time, she went to start the car, the ignition would not turn over. The car was towed and repaired. The second failure was approximately one year later and the same thing happened. The car was towed and repaired for the second time. The third failure happened this week, went to start the car and it would not start again. It is being repaired now. The dealership stated it could possibly be the starter along with the ignition switch. In Dec 2001 the consumer was involved in an accident due to a problem with the tires and the rear axle. The transmission cooler lines were replaced. The brake lights and heater did not work. The egr tube was replaced. The wiper arm was broken. The engine light stayed on all time. The driver side mirror had to be replaced. Updated 01/11/06.

- Dana , IL, USA

problem #94

Aug 182005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,800 miles
Caller said that the vehicle started making a clanking noise. The vehicle stalled and would not start. Vehicle was on a road that had no emergency lane to pull over. Vehicle was towed to caller's house, and was still leaking oil. A mechanic said the engine blew out. Manufacturer said there was no recalls, and caller's warranty expired. Dealer said to bring to bring vehicle but she would have to pay for any repairs herself. Caller had a tune up 2 weeks ago.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #93

Jun 242005

Focus

  • miles
The consumer had numerous repairs performed on her 2000 Ford Focus. Recall campaign#02V288000 & 00V411000. Repairs that have taken place within one year: 14 new tires because of a problem with the wheels, engine, transmission jerking, re-wired, battery, overheating and muffler.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #92

Jan 012005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving and upon making a left or right turn vehicle stalled which almost caused an accident. Consumer contacted the dealer. However, the dealer will do nothing to assist the consumed. Recall 03V482000 concerning stalling was issued.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #91

Mar 282005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,100 miles
Driving up freeway on ramp, while pressing on accelerator engine made loud noise. I pulled to the right emeregency lane open the hood. There was a hole on the block of my engine. Metal chunks were stuck on my radiator. I also picked up metal pieces on the on ramp. When inspected the damages at home the camshaft rod that holds the cam was broken.

- San Fernando, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »