10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called pompano Ford Lincoln (2741 N federal hwy, pompano beach, fl 33064 (888) 718-9266) and autonation Ford fort lauderdale (1333 N federal hwy, fort lauderdale, fl 33304). The dealers confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available/parts distribution disconnect.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #74

Jan 102017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. Passenger airbag inflator replacement. I am still waiting for a resolution to this problem. It has been ten months

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #73

Jun 162016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall: Received initial notice of recalibrating in June 2016 and a remedy has still not been provided by car manufacturer, or takata (which is in bankruptcy). It appears to be a very serious defect, and yet a solution/remedy still has not been provided. Called local dealerships and no one has been provided with replacement parts. I would think this would open companies up for possible litigation.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #72

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. I got the recall notice June 1, 2016. It is now October 20, 2017, and none of the Ford dealers I have contacted have had the parts since the recall. I understand it takes some time to address a recall problem, but it has been more than a year. The dealers say there is no way to disable this bomb in my car.

- Terrell Hills, TX, USA

problem #71

Feb 282017

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
I received a recall from the dealer in Feb 2017. I just called and checked and they admitted to the recall but said they have no other information at this time. As of today 10/20/17, I do not think that this is a timely correction for the recall.

- Kannapolis, NC, USA

problem #70

Jan 102017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall I have been trying to work with my local dealerships (multiple), since the airbag recall was first issued. They've claimed parts availability issues each time I call. Now, with takata filing chapter 11, I guess it's going to be even more difficult to get the parts required. I have not had an issue with the airbags yet.

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #69

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called mullinax Ford of central Florida at (407) 410-2013 (1551 E semoran blvd, apopka, fl 32703) where it was confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available/parts distribution disconnect.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #68

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • miles
"takata recall" so far the passengers side airbag has not deployed, however Ford sent out a notice in July of 2016, and still does not have a time line on when free airbag replacements will be made. Ford has been traveling at a snails pace at getting this problem rectified. Mean while its a load gun sitting on the dash board with the hammer cocked ready to fire at impact.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #67

Jan 012017

Fusion

  • miles
Dashboard is bulging as well as passenger door. I am assuming it's because of he issue with the airbag. I am concerned that the airbags will deploy and cause injury it death to my family. I have read in the forums that Ford is not covering the bulging dashboards if out of warranty. Obviously he issue with the faulty airbags is causing dashboards to bulge. They are bulging for a reason and many people are worried for their safety. This is an urgent issue because no one knows how long the dashboards will hold in these faulty bags. Also we have yet to hear from Ford about the tak at airbags and any recall or remedy situation.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #66

Oct 112017

Fusion

  • 73,500 miles
Takata recall air bags still have not been fixed due to lack of replacement parts. ABS braking system, brake pedal goes soft after hard breaking and turning, car continues to roll with very little stopping power. Once car was shut off and turned on again pedal came back and stopping power came back to normal. The vehicle was in motion on a city street in a drizzling rain and swerved to avoid a car that attempted to turn in front of me, I hit the breaks and swerved to avoid an accident, then when approaching a light approx. 3 blocks away, the pedal went soft and I coasted to a stop. This continued for the rest of the ride approx. 2 miles. I reached the destination and shut the car off, when I came back to the car I started it and the breaks worked fine for stopping from that point on to my home. I had to ride the break pedal for quite a distance before stopping when the pedal went soft. There was no accident however it was a very tense drive not knowing if I would be able to stop my vehicle and hoping that nobody would cut me off and I would need to stop quickly because that was not going to happen. I noticed there are many complaints regarding this and I feel that Ford should be recalling and replacing the parts necessary at no cost to the vehicle owner. According to a Ford tech it is the ABS control valve, and it is a costly repair.

- Palos Hills, IL, USA

problem #65

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact observed that the dashboard panel began to fail/warp near the passenger air bag. The failure occurred without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the panel was separated and there was a bulge where the air bag was located. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer (O'meara Ford, 400 w 104th ave, northglenn, co, 80234) where it was diagnosed that the panel needed to be replaced. Since it was an upholstery repair, the contact was advised to call an auto body shop. The manufacturer confirmed that there was no recall and stated that the failure was not something that they would cover. The manufacturer did not offer any additional assistance except for referring the contact to NHTSA. The failure mileage was approximately 58,000.

- Erie, CO, USA

problem #64

Mar 062017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact called route 23 Ford (1301 NJ-23, butler, NJ 07405) and was informed that the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Wanaque, NJ, USA

problem #63

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called a local dealer (pat milliken Ford Inc, 9600 telegraph rd, redford, mi 48209) and was informed that the parts were on backorder. The manufacturer was informed of the issue and referred the contact to NHTSA. No further assistance was offered. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Detriot, MI, USA

problem #62

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • 70,000 miles
Part has been on recall since 2016 when I received the recall notice. I've been calling and have been told part is on back order from another country. Really......this is ridiculous. Maybe if the parts were made in the United States they would be available. Sad and disgusted.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #61

Jan 102017

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was contacted (sam leman Ford in bloomington, il, 888-481-8279) and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #60

Sep 152017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall: This recall was issued more than a year ago (June, 2016). A reasonable amount of time to fix the recall I would imagine to be 6-9 months. It has now been 15 months. I do not find this reasonable. I called the local dealership and was told that there is no fix available and no eta. How long does a company have to comply with a recall fix?

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #59

Jan 102017

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called a local dealer (san tan Ford, 1429 East motorplex loop, gilbert, AZ 85297) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available...updated 10/06/17

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #58

Mar 012017

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called thoroughbred Ford (8501 N boardwalk ave, Kansas City, mo 64154 (816) 505-1818) where it was confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact was provided case number: Cas-12796536. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available/parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/01/17

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #57

Sep 052017

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called balise Ford (1979 boston rd, wilbraham, MA 01095, phone number: (413) 306-3049) and was informed that the part for the repair was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and did not know when the part would be available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 11/01/17 updated 11/2/2017

- Belchertown, MA, USA

problem #56

Aug 152016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called green Ford located on, 2365 browns bridge rd, gainesville, ga 30504 where it was advised that parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Murrayville, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »