10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,464 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Jul 022019

Fusion

  • 69,000 miles
On Tuesday (July 2nd) morning I backed my car out of the garage and into the residential street. I stopped approx. 4-5 feet past my mailbox - enough for my car door to clear - to get my mail. I put the car in park, got out of the car, opened the mailbox and was getting the mail when the car hit me and knocked me down. It was moving in reverse. The residential street is pretty level. I got up and tried to catch it but it picked up speed and then knocked me down again. I did not realize it at the time but I had already broken my right elbow in the first fall. The car continued to accelerate until it ran into and destroyed a neighbor's mailbox and was stopped. My right elbow sustained a second break which required repair with a plate/screws/wires and I was told I will never regain pre-accident usage of my predominant hand and arm. I had several large contusions on my face which are still present a week later. I have a plate-sized black bruise on my inner right thigh. My left leg is heavily bruised with a large wound and the inner and outer sides of my left foot are black with bruising. I have bruising and scrapes and cuts in multiple places. I believe the car slipped out of gear. If I had not put it in park, it would have started rolling immediately as I took my foot off the brake and got out of it. Instead it hit me completely unexpectedly. I spent almost 3 days in the hospital. I am going to have the car inspected and looked at. There is a current Ford recall for this gear issue for cars from the same factory mine came from and the assembly year. My car has not been included in the recall as of yet but I believe this is what happened.

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #90

Jul 052019

Fusion

  • miles
I was traveling on the highway at high speed of 50mph. My dash went blank with no warning and vehicle started jerking. I was terrified because I couldn't tell my speed after a while the vehicle sped up. I had to lower my gear to stop the vehicle

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #89

Oct 022018

Fusion

  • 0 miles
On 10/2/18 my shifter cable broke and I was unable to drive my car. The shifter was moving back and forth but was not going into any gears. I called the Ford dealership and I had to pay to get my car towed. Ford diagnosed my car and said it was bushing in the transmission shifter cable may degrade over time. This may cause the transmission shifter cable to not be able to fully move the transmission to the selected gear position. I argued with dealership and Ford to try and get the, to cover repair but was told it was not a recall issue. I had to pay $431.77 cash on 10/6/18 to get shifter cable replaced. On 5/13/19, Ford finally issued a recall for this.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #88

Jun 122019

Fusion

  • 110,800 miles
Takata recall, when stationary and shifting from park to drive it is very harsh and grinds (it sounds like metal on metal),, then from reverse to drive it grinds even more.

- Sleepy Eye, MN, USA

problem #87

Jun 162019

Fusion

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Fusion. After exiting the vehicle and placing the gear shifter into park, the vehicle rolled forward. The vehicle was towed to longmont Ford (located at 235 alpine St, longmont, co 80501, (720) 771-6003), but the vehicle was not diagnosed. The vehicle was then towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the shifter cable detached from the gear shifter lever. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 19V362000 (power train). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #86

Jun 032019

Fusion

  • 90,000 miles
Ford Fusion shifter cable recall: My family and I were almost in a horrible accident on 6/3/19 due to this recall that I had no clue about. I was reversing out of a parking spot in a busy shopping strip and my car wouldn't shift to drive. It appeared to shift, I could move the gear but it actually didn't shift. It kept reversing and I almost backed up into a car. I immediately slammed on the brakes and attempted to shift gears and nothing. I tried to put it in park but nothing worked, it kept reversing and I almost hit a pedestrian. I slammed on my brakes again, turned the ignition off and removed the keys. Once I removed the keys, I shifted the gear into park but my car was still rolling backwards, not as fast but still rolling. My husband and my 10 year old son had to push my car into a safe area of the parking lot. I immediately put the emergency brakes on and got out. I thank god me nor my family or a bystander was hurt or injured due to this issue. This is horrific. I immediately called my warranty company, they arranged for my car to be towed to the nearest auto repair shop. I received the recall notice in the mail on 6/5/19 and was so shocked and couldn't believe it. I contacted planet Ford in humble, tx and they arranged to tow my car from the auto repair to them. My car is currently at planet Ford and they are stating they don't have an actual fix yet and that they can provide a temporary fix which I would have to pay out of pocket $700 something. I asked multiple times for a loaner and their response is "Ford will not cover it". I have contacted Ford corporation 4 times and they've been no help at all, each agent tells me something different. They are blaming the dealer and the dealer is blaming them. I have missed work since 6/4/19 and have a loss of income due to this. I'm very disturbed that they're not wiling to assist and more so that they have no date.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #85

May 252019

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the transmission shift cable failed to fully move the transmission into the selected gear position. As a result, the gear failed to shift from drive into park. The rear camera showed that the gear had inadvertently gone into reverse, which also showed on the gear selector display. The contact turned the vehicle off and back on, but was still unable to shift the gear from reverse into park. The vehicle was towed to huntersville Ford (13825 statesville rd, huntersville, nc 28078, 1-(704) 875-6547) concerning NHTSA campaign number: 19V362000 (power train). The dealer failed to provide the part to repair the vehicle. A loaner vehicle option was not provided. The dealer indicated that one of two recall repairs had been provided and for the owner to retain the vehicle. The vehicle was driven from the dealer with extreme difficulty to the contact's residence. Upon arrival, the gear failed to shift into park from drive. The contact had to maneuver the gear from reverse to park with extreme difficulty. The vehicle remained parked and was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted numerous times. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #84

May 132019

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the manufacturer failed to provide the part within a reasonable timeframe for NHTSA campaign number: 19V362000 (power train). Donaghe Ford (903-441-2662, located at 4001 interstate hwy 30, greenville, tx 75402) was contacted and would determine if a loaner vehicle option was available for more than a day. The vehicle was still at the dealer to be serviced as the dealer kept following up with no estimated time for the part to arrive from the manufacturer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Campbell, TX, USA

problem #83

Jun 042019

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
┐takata recall┐ I was driving to a friends house and as I was pulling in their driveway to park. I push my gear to park but my car goes in reverse gear when I put it in to park gear and so I tried to move my gear shift to the gear I wanted but it wouldn┐T move any more. So I cut my car off and when I cut it off it kept rolling forward so I just pulled my emergency brake and left it as is.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #82

May 242019

Fusion

  • 89,900 miles
On 05/24/19 I got in my car as I was leaving my work, it would not start and kept giving me a message that the transmission was not on park.I released the handbrake and the car simply rolled back.after seeing that the shifter didn't work we searched on google and found that the shifter cable has a plastic bushing that breaks and renders the shifter useless.it is a common problem in the Fusion and there are many videos showing how to fix it.we went to O'reilly and bought a universal bushing kit. After 2 hours we finally fixed the car.it happened again on 06/02/19 which led me to search more about the problem and found this: Recall number 18V471000 recall date 07/16/2018 power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:floor shift summary Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2013-2014 Ford escape, and 2013-2016 Ford Fusion vehicles equipped with six-speed automatic transmissions.the bushing that attaches the transmission shifter cable to the transmission may degrade over time and cause the bushing to detach from the transmission.the condition could allow the driver to move the shift lever to park and remove the ignition key, while the transmission may not be in park, with no warning message or audible chime. Consequence if the vehicle is exited without the transmission being in park and without the parking brake being applied, the vehicle may unexpectedly move, increasing the risk of a crash. What owners should do Ford will notify owners, and dealers will replace the shifter cable bushing, free of charge. The recall began September 20, 2018. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 18S20. Note: Owners are directed to use the parking brake until the recall remedy repairs can be made. This is exactly what my car has and after calling Ford they say my car in not part of this recall and can't help me.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #81

May 132019

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the manufacturer failed to provide the part for within a reasonable time frame concerning NHTSA campaign number: 19V362000 (power train). Mcauley Ford (250 N el circulo ave, patterson, ca 95363, 1-(833) 768-9647) was contacted, but was unable to determine when an appointment could be scheduled because the part was not available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Newman, CA, USA

problem #80

May 012019

Fusion

  • 91,385 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the transmission failed to properly engage and disengage. Bull valley Ford (1460 S eastwood dr, woodstock, il 60098, (815) 338-6680) diagnosed that the bushings failed and needed to be replaced. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in a recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and rendered no assistance other than the dealer repairing the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 91,385.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #79

May 202019

Fusion

  • 58,000 miles
Takata recall, loud humming/ vibration noise appears to be coming from underneath rear of vehicle. First started while driving on the street, pulled over to check and it was when the engine would not turn back on, engine light turned on, after this the key fob push to start has not been working and every time you pump gas the engine has problems turning on, only turns on after pressing the gas.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #78

Apr 282019

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the bushing detached from the transmission and caused the vehicle to roll away unexpectedly if the emergency brake were not engaged. Leif johnson Ford (501 E koenig ln, austin, tx 78751, (512) 454-3711) and manufacturer stated that there was no recall to cover the repairs. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired; however, the contact made an appointment with the dealer in the next ten days. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #77

Mar 012019

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
On one occasion, the driver put the car in park but it was actually in reverse. The second time it happened, my daughter was in a mcdonald's drive through and the car was in drive but switched over to reverse.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #76

Feb 182019

Fusion

  • miles
Transmission slipping despite car only being 2 years old. It has also had electrical issues. Must replace entire transmission

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #75

Jan 262019

Fusion

  • 11,900 miles
Vehicle started reversing while gear sh*t was in drive position. Put car back into park, then back into drive vehicle did not move. Turned vehicle off and vehicle began to roll while in park on flat level ground. Vehicle was towed to the Ford dealership for service and was estimated $429 for repair of shifter cable bushing. However I was informed my VIN was not included in the recall because of the manufacture date of the vehicle. The identical recall is 18S20. Please investigate other date made vehicles for 2016 Ford Fusion.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #74

Jan 272019

Fusion

  • 119,000 miles
Transmission shifter cable. The cable bushing detached while driving. Causing the car to reverse even thou the selected gear was drive.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #73

Jan 102019

Fusion

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Fusion. After stopping the vehicle and shifting into park, the vehicle continued to roll backwards. The gear shifter displayed that the vehicle was in neutral although the actual shifter was in the park position. The vehicle was towed to walnut creek Ford (1800 N., main St., walnut creek, ca) where it was diagnosed that the shift control cable bushing malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #72

Jan 052019

Fusion

  • 200 miles
Shifter cable bushings broke/ I was going to start. I was indicated the transmission was on reverse. But it was on park on the display.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »