really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Jun 102013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V132000 (air bags). The dealer could not repair the vehicle for eight months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #29

Jul 132010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 23,705 miles
This was a Honda recall for driver side airbag inflator kit.no charge to me the owner.. another Honda recall for the passenger airbag inflator kit was done on July 31 2013 again no charge to me the owner..spring of 2008 I received a warranty extension for the occupant position detection system extending the warranty for 10 years.or 150000 miles..I have less than 35000 miles on car.my SRS lite went on in early Feb 2014 so I made an appointment with holman Honda.they told me it was out of warranty. The charge to check would be $60 and I would have to pay for repairs. Since this has been a problem for Honda I refused to pay..a call to Honda of America was fruitless as they said the car was out of warranty..of course this will be my last Honda. They did not seem to care..

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 172014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 166,000 miles
No accident occurred. Notified via dealership inspection that front airbag sensors faulty. Approximate cost of replacement $800. Possible failure of airbags deploying upon impact. Feel since this is a required safety feature that manufacturer should be responsible for replacement.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #27

Jul 012013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2002 Honda CRV. Consumer writes in regards passenger front air bag recall notice. The consumer stated the dealer wasn't willing to pick up the vehicle, or even supply money for gas, time and mileage.

- Southborough, MA, USA

problem #26

Apr 142013


  • 140,000 miles
What has happened is that a safety recall has been ordered for my car's passenger side airbag and safercar has not posted it here!

- Shngle Springs, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 272012


  • 191,103 miles
I responded to a recall notice for the airbag inflator. I had noticed, immediately thereafter, that my horn and cruise control is inoperable. I contacted service advisor who asked to bring the car back in. She agreed that the mechanism for these inoperable parts is in "close proximity to the air bag inspection areas", for the recall. However, they claim they "... are not liable for the cable reel" and will charge to have it fixed. And just yesterday, in the process of getting my window fixed, the same dealership left out the moisture shield and disabled my door locks which are superficial issues that they somewhat resolved. However, I still do not have a working horn or cruise control because these were consequentially damaged after innocently responding to an airbag recall inspection.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 292012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Left rear tire blew out on highway at 70mph, driver lost control of vehicle and it flipped and rolled multiple times. Passenger air bag deployed (no passenger in vehicle) but driver air bag failed to deploy. Driver had broken bones, cuts and abrasions. Deployment of driver air bag would likely have reduced injuries to driver.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #23

Jan 062012


  • miles
My 35 year old daughter was in a single auto accident in her 2002 Honda CRV on Jan. 6 in wytheville, va returning from knoxville, tn to frederick, md. She blacked out and her car ran off the road, impacted a mile marker sign, struck an embankment and her car overturned four times. Her car was totaled but neither the front, nor side airbags deployed. The airbags were checked as part of the airbag inflator recall on July 27, 2011 at a Honda dealer in knoxville, tn. She miraculously survived the accident but had a concussion and a severe laceration to her left ear. She was unconscious when the rescue team arrived and was airlifted to roanoke for medical care. Since the accident she has been suffering from post concussive syndrome (constant headaches, memory loss, insomnia, difficulty concentrating). According to a trucker who saw the accident she never hit her brakes and was traveling at 70 mph. She never received any notice from Honda and was only made aware of the recall when taking her car in for other maintenance. While her injuries were not fatal, nor did she have any broken bones, she did suffer a concussion and has had headaches for three months. Perhaps she would not have suffered the head injury had her airbags functioned properly. We have pictures of her car which can be provided.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #22

Nov 122011


  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that she received notification of a manufacturer's recall regarding the driver side airbag. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised the contact that the inflator did not need to be replaced. Later while driving 35 mph on a mountainous road, the contact attempted to avoid crashing into another vehicle when the contact lost control of the vehicle, crashed into a tree and then rolled over twice. The driver side airbag did not deploy and the contact sustained minor injuries to the neck and back. The police were contacted and a report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileage was 96,000.

- Victor , NY, USA

problem #21

Nov 222011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 86,972 miles
My daughter was involved in a one vehicle collision. The vehicle left the roadway and struck a culvert head on. The vehicle sustained significant front end damage, but neither the driver or the passenger side airbags deployed. There was also some damage to the side of the vehicle and the side air bags did not deploy. The vehicle's actual speed is unknown to this writer, an estimate has been provided above.

- Malone, NY, USA

problem #20

Nov 182011


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the driver's seat would shake abnormally and the SRS air bag warning light would illuminate on the instrument panel sporadically. The contact made an appointment with the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 140,000.

- New City, NY, USA

problem #19

Sep 012005


  • miles
Purchased the car in 2002. Starting in 2005, the seat belt wouldn't engage into the buckle. Had to force and force the buckle in for the buckle to lock in the insert. Recently, the SRS light came on. Honda tells me that the seat belt must be replaced because the air bags may not deploy upon impact but there is no warranty. An independent mechanic tells me that the seat belt may in fact be warranted, but Honda made no mention of that.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #18

Jul 012011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2002 Honda CR-V. consumer states issues with recall service the consumer stated he received a recall notice in the mail. The consumer stated when he took the vehicle to the dealer, they only kept it for 45 minutes. The consumer stated he didn't think the dealer did anything to the vehicle as the air bag light was still on.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 132010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CRV. While the contact was driving approximately 65 mph, the supplemental restraint system warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the failure was contributed to the opdf unit which was replaced the following day under the service warranty. The failure persisted after the vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer twice. The estimated repair cost was $600. The manufacturer suggested to the dealer to trouble shoot with an identical part from another vehicle. The dealer was unable to provide that recommendation from the manufacturer and advised that the owner would be responsible for the parts and the labor expense. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 64,500. Updated 07/21/10. Updated 8/2/10 the consumer stated when the SRS light stays on, there is a fault somewhere in the SRS. The system is disabled at this point. In case of a collision, the air bags will not deploy and the seat belts will not tighten. Updated 08/06/10 updated 10/28/10 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on July 23, 2010. The SRS unit was replaced at a a cost of $ $617.72. Updated 11/01/10

- Erie , PA, USA

problem #16

Apr 052004

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 26,816 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the SRS service light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer seven times. Each time, the vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The contact was informed that the when the SRS light was illuminated, the air bags would not deploy in the event of a crash. The failure mileage was 44,697. The current mileage was 134,126. Updated 07/08/10 the dealer always replaced the driver or passenger side seat belt buckle, or belt tensioner. Updated 07/09/10. Updated 07/16/13

- Santa Ynez, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 042008


  • 300 miles
Repeated mechanical failures of the 2002 Honda CRV that I bought brand new have been occurring since August of 2002. The car was bought in July of 2002. The odor from the inside cabin filter first occurred in August. The fuse to the warning devise that would alert the driver to lights being left on, etc. Went out within 3-4 months. Then major items which had to be replaced: Differential, 2004(though still under warranty, Honda refused to replace it for 2 years), neck of fuel tank broke, 2006, air conditioning system, 2007, driver-side window fell off track because the plastic clamp cracked, 2008, catalytic converter, 2009, O2 sensor, 2009, driver's seat unstable since 2003, SRS slowly went out beginning with intermittent warnings about side door air bag being turned off beginning in 2003 which dealerships ignored as just an occurence from something or someone bumping against the closed door from the inside. Finally in 2008, when the light came on to stay, I was told that it was a failure of the sensor motor__now my problem to again pay for a major repair.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #14

Jan 162008


  • 90,000 miles
SRS light on dash, diagnosed by dealer as SRS control failure, $700 to replace. There was a service bulletin regarding a different part of the system, checked out ok, but seems like quite a coincidence that the bulletin and the failure were so close in time. It's hard to accept that a part costing so much and so critical to safety "just goes bad" for so many of us - complaints are circulating out in the internet and on the NHTSA site dating back to 1 -2 years. Mere mortals cannot tell what or whether there is actually anything wrong, only those who have the computer (those who stand to profit a lot) can know. It's the fox guarding the henhouse. Happily I haven't needed the airbags and seatbelt tightener, but this could happen any time. Is NHTSA sure there isn't a systemic problem here, that Honda should be attending to?

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 092008


  • 60,000 miles
My daughter was driving my 2002 Honda CRV ex and lost control and rolled the car. It ended up lying on the drivers side and hit a guard rail which finally stopped it from sliding on it side along the freeway. The insurance company was sure that they will total the car. The ex model not only had front air bags but also side air bags. Not a one of these went off. The drivers side of the car was very smashed and the drivers side window was broken out along with the windshield. Her arm had glass clear down to the bone along with a 7 inch cut that is stitched in 3 levels. For as much trauma as the car took I feel it held together pretty good (top did not crush in except a little in the back ) and that she is lucky to be alive. I feel that at least though the front airbags and drivers side one should have gone off. Airbags are not like a smoke detector that you can test, you rely on that they will work when you need them.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #12

Jul 182007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,825 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the air conditioning unit dispenses hot air. The dealer stated that the clutch on the air conditioning was burned. The contact also stated that the driver's seat is wobbly and not attached tightly and the air bag light automatically illuminates when it is bumped against. The dealer stated that a switch may be needed. The contact stated that when she removes the key from the ignition, the vehicle continues to move. She stated that none of the failures have been repaired by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 71,825.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 142005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Dt the air bags sensor is not working properly, the SRS light stays on. Contacted Honda, and they will not warranty it. Consumer had to pay for the labor and rent a car, this started happening July 14th, 2005.

- Denver, CO, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »