10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,121 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #62

Jul 272019

CR-V

  • 6,900 miles
I was driving Saturday 27, 2019 about 9:00 am in the pulaski skyway in New Jersey then all of the sudden all the display warning lights went on and off until the car stall and the engine just stop working but the warning lights( every single one) just kept going on and off. I couldn't do anything as you may know the pulaski skyway has not place to pull over, you can imagine the traffic jam that my broke down car cause. The weekend of the 07/21/2019 I had a strong smell of gasoline in the cabin and when I check the oil dipstick it was overfill and had the strong smell of gasoline I called the dealer planet Honda and they told me to bring my car to check on 07/25/2019, the same day the dealer called me and said that is nothing wrong with the car and the smell of gasoline and the overfill engine oil was normal. I have no confidence on driving my Honda CRV anymore. I bought the car on 06/15/2019 with 5,300 miles on it.

- Roselle, NJ, USA

problem #61

Oct 012018

CR-V

  • 10,000 miles
Central console malfunctioning (brightness setting) affecting safety while driving or using gps, audio, navigation systems

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #60

Jul 112019

CR-V

  • miles
During interstate driving using the adaptive cruise control, the vehicle warning lights for the adaptive cruise control, lane keep assist system, braking warning indicators illuminated and the adaptive cruise control stopped working causing the vehicle to decelerate.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #59

Jul 032019

CR-V

  • miles
Warning lights flashing then had software update ac control all that was on the bulletin, lights flashing again warning lights so at 38,000 had to have fuel injectors, one warning light came on since then after cutting car off hasn┐T come back on yet both stationary, and in motion.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #58

Jun 262019

CR-V

  • miles
Raw fuel smell inside cabin and outside of vehicle. Engine oil diluted and oil level increased. Fuel mixed in with oil.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #57

Jun 212019

CR-V

  • miles
I was driving from Virginia beach, va to midlothian, va on state 288 North (wwii veterans memorial highway traveling at approximately 50-60 mph far left lane. I was using cruise control. Suddenly smoke started to appear from what I thought was another vehicle however, I quickly realized it was from my vehicle what appeared from under my hood. I immediately slowed down, put on my hazards and moved to the far-right shoulder just short of mile marker 10. I was traveling with a coworker and we both existed the vehicle and white smoke immediately started to fill the interior from the smoke under the hood. We closed both door and started to move away from the front of the vehicle along the shoulder. We both knelt down to see what appeared to be fire dripping from the underside to the asphalt. At this point in time we started to see flames come out from under the hood and begin to engulf the care in less than 10 min. I immediately called 911 from my coworkers┐ phone because left mine in the vehicle and dared not to reenter it. A passerby who happened to be a volunteer fireman stopped and attempted to use his vehicles fire extinguisher to put out the flame but it was too large a fire. The state troopers arrived in about 10 min then the fire trucks arrived about 10 min after. By then the entire care was in dark black smoke with flames all around it. We heard several explosions which the firefighters said were my tires and air bag deployment canisters. The firefighters put out the fire with a foam agent and proceeded to check for remaining heat. No indicators were illuminated prior to us stopping due to seeing the smoke. This vehicle is serviced at the normal intervals by priority Honda in chesapeake, va where it was purchased and I've no issues prior to this incident.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #56

May 242019

CR-V

  • 8,000 miles
At random times while driving the infotainment screen randomly starts flashing and beeping. With the brightness control bar popping up at the bottom of the screen. This is very distracting to the driver while operating the vehicle. This has happened three time while the vehicle was in motion on at highway speeds and while driving in traffic. The only way to stop this is to turn the car off. This is a big saftey issue for safe operation of the vehicle and it will cause an accident for someone. It seems to happen randomly I belive it may happen when the navigation system is activated and the car has an android phone attached however I am unable to replicate it. It has happened 4 times. My vehicle has 8000 miles on it. Additionally there are report on the internet that this has happend to other drivers as well. I reported this by telephone to customer service at Honda as well 0N 05/30/2019. I also had an issue that onetime this winter I started the car and the sunroof automatically opened and could not be closed for about 1 hour. Luckily it was not raining or snowing that day. There seems to be a number of issues with the electronic control system on this vehicle.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #55

May 102019

CR-V

  • 9,200 miles
Rear passenger side door window glass shattered while driving on the highway. I heard a loud pop before the glass shattered. There were no vehicles to the right of or in front of my car when it happened, since I was in the right-most lane of traffic. Therefore, the glass could not have been shattered by debris.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #54

May 082019

CR-V

  • 10,000 miles
Honda sensing auto braking did an emergency stop for no reason. It happen twice on the same location. The car miss interpreted rectangular concrete patch on black asphalt as a hazard. It happen twice in the same location one month apart, each time I came from a different direction. Speed was low, about 15 miles/H. it was in a very big parking lot driving straight.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #53

May 052019

CR-V

  • 3,710 miles
Accident avoidance system engaged for no reason, locking the brakes momentarily while driving at 40 mph. May 5, 2019, clear day, 4:30P, heading East (sun behind), nothing in front of the vehicle and traffic far behind. Five lane road - two lanes each direction and a middle turn lane -- and straight in this area. Turned right onto the road from an intersection and got up to speed. The warning sound from the accident avoidance system beeped three times while the brakes were harshly applied causing light skidding in dry conditions. Then the brakes were just as suddenly released. Happened very quickly and would have caused an accident if I was in traffic. My foot was still on the gas pedal and the braking force made me push the pedal more. Extremely unsafe incident. Vehicle had about 3,710 miles, 2018 CR-V ex 1.5 turbo AWD with cvt.

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #52

Dec 012018

CR-V

  • 4,500 miles
In cold weather - below ~15 degrees, the engine fully warms up at highway speeds but temp drops to below the bottom of the gauge if you exit the highway or get into traffic jam. At less than highway speed/bumper to bumper traffic, heat/defroster not warm enough to keep windshield clear. Glass/wipers ice up.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #51

Mar 302019

CR-V

  • 6,953 miles
My car has the oil dilution issue. Have had the oil changed 2 times with less than 7000 miles on car. Dealer cannot fix yet because they are not authorized.

- Lexington, VA, USA

problem #50

Mar 292019

CR-V

  • 1,200 miles
Lane departure and collision control often engage without cause. Twice I have been driving and the lane departure sensors go off and vehicle automatically brakes for no obvious reason. It appears that it may be falsely reading shadows or wet roadways. One incident was on a city street at about 40 mph. The other was on the interstate at around 70 mph.

- Wildwood, MO, USA

problem #49

Mar 202019

CR-V

  • miles
The rear center and rear left passenger seatbelt latch requires for the two seatbelts to be entangled together to be latched. It is clearly a safety issue as they cannot be used in tandem, which means that only two occupants can be safely transported in the rear.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #48

Mar 212019

CR-V

  • 2,755 miles
I was driving to get license renewed when my car lost power and began to coast. The engine was on and I had to gun it to pick up speed. I turned around and headed for the Honda dealership. Upon getting there all systems were lit up maintenance wise and smoke was coming out of the underside where the brakes are. The service advisor said when she went around the car that it was so hot it would have burned her. Service tech said left front brakes extremly heated and smoke coming from the area. Found brakes have gotten hot. Cleared code present C0040-12. Brake switch stuck on. I advised never used hold brake unless I was sitting on steep hill. Tech unable to make vehicle do what it was doing to me but, the minute I got it out on the highway, it started doing the same thing. Tech advised brake pads ok and rotors have some heat spots in them but ok. They went ahead and changed the oil!!!!

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #47

Dec 312018

CR-V

  • 45 miles
I purchased a brand new Honda CRV ex on 12/31/18. Please see my letter (attachment.. I first noticed my trunk was not aligned, so I had to bring it back to be realigned. I quickly noticed bluetooth was not functioning properly. People kept telling me they couldn't hear me or I sounded like I was under water or half the words were missing. I took it to the dealer and they changed the microphone and for a day or so it seemed better. However, after that, now I can hardly hear other people and it sounds like a fax machine or breaks off the call so I can't hear anything. If it does function, people state they can barely hear me or understand me. I took it back to Honda and they said their it department stated there was nothing they could do to fix the problem. As you read the letter, you will see that Honda has turned this issue onto the buyers. If you google this problem, there are thousands of people having this problem. I sent a letter to corporate in California and walter(the regional manager of Illinois) called me back again. He said he works in California" we went around and around about the same things he told me per our last call. Please look at the phones they have listed on their website. I have the latest samsung note. The only one they have listed is a note 2 which is from 2012. I cannot believe Honda, with all the technology they have, cannot help all the people that own these new/used vehicles?" I am so astounded that so many people have this problem and have spent a lot of money on these cars. Walter told me to keep checking back on the website because things get updated monthly. I haven't seen any changes. I will be waiting a long time for them to catch up to samsung note newer phones if they are only on 2012 phones. This is very dangerous and there need to be a recall.

- Park Ridge, IL, USA

problem #46

Oct 012018

CR-V

  • 2,000 miles
Honda's sensing system randomly displays invalid warning messages. This is the radar/camera system that monitors cars speed, braking, distances, cruise control, etc. This is a random issue that occurs when driving at highway speeds (45 to 65mph). Warning lights come on stating problems with brakes, speed controls, etc. The main safety concern is that system tells you that you have a problem with your brakes, and you have no way of know if this is true or not. You are forced to pull over in traffic and understand if there is a problem or not. I understand that if it is snowing, heavy rain, heavy dust, or the sensors are blocked in any way, a warning light will come on. The safety concern is that the warnings come on randomly on a sunny or cloudy dry day where there should be nothing that sets the sensors off. To correct the problem, you must stop the car, place it in park and then the alarms clear. This system is not reliable and can not be trusted, plus has not been able to be repaired by the dealer, and per Honda information, could randomly stop the car when there is not real problem (I.e. set the brakes as I am driving down the road at highway speeds for no reason). False warning lights distract the driver and could lead to a collision while driving or on the side of the road trying to determine if there is truly a problem with the vehicle. Should system stop the car for no reason, it could cause a collision. This continues to occur with this vehicle.

- Eagle River, WI, USA

problem #45

Mar 172019

CR-V

  • miles
Cmbs faulty. It thinks there is N object on an empty road and hard brakes it's very hazardous to drive you never know when it's gonna happen dealer can┐T find the isssue

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #44

Mar 132019

CR-V

  • 2,640 miles
Driving vehicle home from work, on interstate highway at 65 mph speed limit. Suddenly heard a loud sound in direction above my head. I glanced up and found the sunroof glass above my head to be shattered and the wind created by driving at that speed took some of the glass off and I believe showered the roadway behind me. I now have a large hole in the sunroof glass and what glass remains is completely shattered. What caused the glass to shatter is unknown at this time.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #43

Mar 092019

CR-V

  • miles
My 2018 Honda CR-V is have a problem with overfilled oil levels with a gas mixed with engine oil and gas smell, this is due to gas leak into oil reservoirs. This is a cause for concern of longevity of the engine and health risk cause from gas smell in the cabin of vehicle. NHTSA to required Honda to recall this vehicle to get it fix. My vehicle only have 6100 miles on it.

- Maple Valley, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »