10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
22 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,200 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #84

Sep 062019

Civic

  • miles
After numerous visits to ocean Honda of burlingame to discuss that the car I purchased was never actually completely "properly certified" as was discussed; and the fact that I brought it in numerous times. - I have had no cooperation. Please verify with lisa mendez who just verified to sales mgr van that the car has been probelematic since purchase and should be traded out. I do not feel and have not felt I'm driving a completely safe or dependable car. Most recent visit to discuss issues was 09/06/19 and I had been there already 3 times within the previous 2 weeks for continuing issues with lights coming on after I had service and after I had asked if there was anything needed. I was told I was all good !!... now just spent $460 to find out that I need $1700 work and there are recalls I wasn't notified about. There is previous documented complaint I filed on this car a long while back. I have been trying to get them to take it back since I got it due to one thing or another. Just doesn't feel stable or secure. They should take it back and deal with it themselves. Initial complaint logged was due to a replaced seal of some sort that they broke and replaced again, I was driving and it started making a burning smell. They replaced again, but still seems not right and engine hazard lights come on -- and they clear them and tell me its ok.... does not feel ok, and was not ok. I am not waiting for an accident to happen however my numerous visits and pleas to exchange and take back the car have gone upon deaf ears and they (sales) have now become rude. I feel like dropping off the car to them and giving them the keys and they can deal with it however I'm so upset that I "must have a car" so I am trying to find a new car now and having no lock since my credit is ruined.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #83

Sep 012018

Civic

  • miles
Car roof paint in exchange color

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #82

Jun 242019

Civic

  • 115,000 miles
Takata recall July 06, 2019 about a year ago my airbag light came on while I was driving the vehicle, but it turned off immediately. It never came back on until recently and the airbag light stays lit on the dash. My vehicle in question is a 2009 Honda Civic. The airbag code I get when I scan the vehicle is a "code 33-10 open in the left side curtain airbag first inflator." Airbags in vehicles should not go bad for no reason especially curtain airbags. This airbag went bad (defective). I went online and I saw that a lot of people have issues with the same issues as I do on Honda vehicles. I was about to sell my car and now that the airbag light came, then I will not be able to sell my vehicle. My 2009 Honda Civic had 115,000 miles when the airbag light first came on in the dash. I would really appreciate that someone looks into this matter. This issue should be a recall. Thank you.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #81

Mar 052019

Civic

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while the driver was driving about 40-50 mph, the vehicle rear-ended another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. There was no police report filed. The driver sustained chest pain and was taken by ambulance. The other two passengers sustained contusions from the seat belts and required medical attention. The vehicle was totaled and was towed to an auto body shop where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor was damaged and sensed that the air bag did deploy. The technician also noticed that the air bag and the seat belt warning lights were on. The seat belt was replaced. The technician stated that the air bag sensor also needed to be repaired. The vehicle was taken to another independent mechanic for the air bag sensor repair. The contact stated that even though the vehicle was totaled the owner retained ownership of the vehicle and was able to do the repairs with the settlement amount from the insurance company. The dealer was not called. The contact called the manufacturer and left messages but the contact was not called back. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #80

Jun 042019

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
The air bag factory messed up and it is very dangerous if opened and can hurt or kill the passengers. The department of motor vehicles left us a note to receive a free repair. My number is [xxx] and my name is [xxx] and when you call please speak spanish information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Westbury, NY, USA

problem #79

May 142019

Civic

  • miles
2009 Honda Civic never in an accident. In Feb 2019 he airbag light came on. Front airbags were previously replaced under takita recall. I was told the passenger seat side airbag had to be replaced for "a part that just fails over time" and was not part of the recall. I paid $1100 to have it replaced. Two months later and the airbag light is on again and I fear it is now the driver side curtain airbag that has failed and I will have to put another $1100 into a car for failure of a safety part. The car has 112,000 miles and I just paid an additional $1400 for rear breaks, shocks, etc., which I consider routine maintenance. I could have put $3600 down on a new car. Now I am already into this car for $2500 and fixing the airbag is non-negotiable. It needs to be done. I would be curious to know how many other people are having side airbag issues with Honda vehicles. Also, the paint is peeling off the vehicle! started peeling 6 months after the warranty was up so Honda not responsible.

- Middlefield, CT, USA

problem #78

May 282014

Civic

  • miles
I bought it like that

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #77

Jul 152015

Civic

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Honda Civic. While at a stop light, another vehicle crashed into the front of the contact's vehicle. The front passenger air bag did not fully deploy. No other air bag deployed. There was no warning indicator illuminated. A police report was filed. The driver and the front passenger received injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an unknown location. The dealer and manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #76

Feb 012018

Civic 4-cyl Diesel

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Civic. While operating the vehicle, a loud popping sound was heard and smoke suddenly appeared from under the front passenger seat. It was later discovered that the front passenger seat belt would not operate and the air bag indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer (motorcars Honda, 2953 mayfield rd., cleveland heights, oh) where it was diagnosed that the SRS malfunctioned and caused the passenger seat air bag to erroneously deploy. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and did not assist. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- South Euclid, OH, USA

problem #75

Apr 232018

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall: No notice ever received! our 2009 Honda Civic was purchased by us in September of 2008, and our phone number and physical address have not changed in the 10 years since then. As of today, May 7, 2018, a call to Honda of America's customer service phone number still associates both our phone number and address with this vehicle. The Washington post (4/23/18) quotes Honda of America executive vice president rick schostek as saying, ¿we¿re good at repairing vehicles, but finding and convincing customers of older model vehicles to complete recalls, now that has proved a difficult challenge.¿ is he implying that we were notified that the vehicle needed to be repaired" we never received a notification. Honda has our physical address, phone number, email, and the local dealer still sends regular notices to that same email address. The vehicle title was switched to our son's name about 5 years ago. He lives a couple of miles from us, and he has never received a notification either. So how did we find out that the car's airbags were recalled" a law firm sent a postcard to his home asking him to join in a class action lawsuit against Honda of America. Guess it wasn¿T so hard to find the car's owner if unsolicited attorneys can find them!

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #74

Mar 122018

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. My complain is the Honda manager ¿jose dominguez ¿ is not handling things professionally. I made a appointment with a Honda representative because I have a recall on my 2009 Honda Civic. I made the appointment with her and she told me she¿D be able to get me a car to use because a shuttle wouldn¿T work. I show up on my appointment date March 12 at 7:30. They told me they couldn¿T give me a car as I was under 21. I understand that but no one communicated with me that you had to be at least 21 years of age. So I was very upset as I had to wake up early when it could¿ve been avoided if I got asked the right questions. Second complaint, james dominguez (Santa Fe Honda manager) wants me to come when I¿M working to bring in my car but I cannot do that because I have to stay on the job site. I explained that to him. He says, ¿that's your fault because you don¿T have time to bring it in¿. I only have sundays available, which I told him, but he said he can¿T accommodate me. So I don¿T know what to do about this air bag recall because I don¿T have time to take it in.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #73

Feb 212018

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. Buen DÍa estimados, quiero saber si a mi auto le corresponde el cambio de las bolsas de aire takata, ya que no logro comunicarme con la concecionaria caballito automotores. He enviado un mail con la consulta tambien a ellos por que me entere por los medios de comunicaciÓN en el DÍa de ayer 20/02/2018. Luego de transcurridos 9 aÑos.

- Caba, AK, USA

problem #72

Jan 012017

Civic

  • miles
I keep getting the light of "side air bag off" on my dash come on and off. It has been doing for about 1yr.

- Dalton, GA, USA

problem #71

Jan 012018

Civic

  • miles
I have a red light for the airbag

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #70

Jul 122017

Civic

  • miles
Allergy started occur on my body, went to the doctor and he said that this allergy is cause by a chemical occur in my car.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #69

Sep 092017

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall was repaired 2017. Paint peeling more than Honda recall areas. Honda refuses to repaint. 8/2017 9/2017 in motion : driver side sun visor is broken and drops down and blocks my view out of the front window. I can not afford to replace.

- Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #68

Jun 012017

Civic

  • 0 miles
The SRS light intermittently comes on display on the dashboard. Honda dealership ran a diagnostic test twice and determined it was a faulty cable reel. The car has never been in a major accident and has never had an airbag deployed. Honda explained that the cable reel is a "bad part", and quoted repair estimates at 700 dollars for part and service. Honda warned that there is a 50 percent chance that the airbag will not deploy in the event of an automobile accident. Honda company refuses to cover the cost and service of replacing the cable reel due to expired warranty for airbag parts (2-year warranty). After much research, it appears that many Honda automobiles (especially Honda Civics manufactured around 2009) are having the same issue. This is a critical safety issue and liability for the company to sell cars and advertise their products as durable, when in fact safety features become faulty after a few years. It is concerning that Honda is selling and marketing products with compromised safety systems that become defective after a couple years of use. I have filed a complaint through Honda, and I would like to have the issue investigated by NHTSA.

- Valley Village, CA, USA

problem #67

Jul 112016

Civic

  • 160,000 miles
Air bag light stays on all the time

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #66

Sep 012017

Civic

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving my car in wet conditions when my car skidded onto a curb. My explosives went off in my airbags, however, my air bags failed to deploy. Currently my air bag light is on.

- Hull, MA, USA

problem #65

Oct 132017

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Civic. The contact stated that there was a premature crack in the area of the air bag within the steering wheel. The air bag was protruding outward, which caused the contact to have to tape the steering wheel to prevent the air bag from coming out. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Miami, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »