10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,647 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Chevrolet Trax:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #26

Dec 312020

Trax

  • 36,000 miles
August 2020 at about 20K miles took vehicle in for oil change at dealer. Added recommended tire rotation. Everything is fine. I inquire about the recal on the lower control arms and parts will be ordered and should be called. No call! May 2020 - take car back to dealership for code regarding the turbo charger (which needed to be replaced because wastegate was sticking) they also were finally able to install lower control arm parts that they never called me about. This is about 30K miles. Dec 31, 2020 at about 36K miles I take in for oil change and tire rotation. I am now being told my left front wheel stud is cross threaded and I have uneven wear and require an aligment. I'm assuming they did not align my car while installing that part from the recall and their tech cross threaded the stud on my wheel. I will be going back tomorrow because this was not a problem until they installed the new control arm which would require them to take the tire off. I'm very frustrated because they were already trying to put the blame back on me, however, they are the only people that have moved the tires. I truly hope guaranty Chevrolet in santa ana, ca do right by me and take care of something that could have only been done about 6K miles ago at there service shop.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #25

Nov 112019

Trax

  • 36,457 miles
Id number 19V312

- Council Bluff, IA, USA

problem #24

Jul 012019

Trax

  • 40,000 miles
We purchased our 2018 Chevy Trax January 2018. In approx. July we were notified of the factory recall for the lower control arms. Up until this point we have been bringing our Trax in for oil changes and tire rotations to dale earnhardt jr Chevrolet. The day I dropped off my Trax for the recall inspection I was told that both my front tires were in extreme hazardous condition and they needed to be replaced. I declined purchasing new tires at that point because I wanted a second opinion. Reason being how could they become "extremely hazardous" in such a short period of time. As it be upon inspection both of my lower control arms were found to be faulty. My vehicle was kept for approx. 6 weeks for repair. During that time I spoke with several different tire dealerships regarding the impact the control arms would have on the wear of my tires and every single one of them concurred that it would absolutely have a impact on the wear of my tires. At that point I had just alittle over 40,000. Per the tire experts new tires are expected to last at least 50,000 miles. I talked to the dealership and they would not cover the cost but offered me a discounted rate. I then opened a case with GM and was told GM would not cover the cost of the tires either. I am trying to find out who is responsible for making this decision. If the recall clearly states a faulty control arm 'could' cause your tires to toe out and create issues with your tire tread which mine did why is GM not covering the cost of the tires. Would I have had to have a crash to have them replaced?

- Wacissa, FL, USA

problem #23

Apr 182019

Trax

  • miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The contact called paddock Chevrolet (located at 3232 Delaware avenue, kenmore, NY 14217, 716-803-6241) who stated that the contact was on the waiting list; however, they were unable to provide an estimated timeframe for the repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #22

Nov 042019

Trax 4-cyl

  • 22,548 miles
The dash and radio has gone out since purchasing the car 9/2018. I called dealer they said they awaiting the update from GMC. Yet today this have I received a update on the computer in the dash. It's been 14 months. They radio just shuts off and won't come back on. I have taken it to service department by the time I drove there the radio came back on. I had the car serviced and the alignment was out. No one told me. I had to look at the service paperwork myself to find that there was a recall on the control arm weld. I had the recall fixed in 6/2019. On 11/4/2019 I went to get in my car and driving and the brakes felt like they went out. Then the ABS light came on and said I needed it services. They dealer still have my car and is stating it's a wheel sensor and not covered under warranty. A light over the license plate broke and I had to have that replaced. Once again they keep blaming customer or GMC for the parts or defects. Yet make customers pay. They say they are at the mercy of the parts department. Also that I wanted service but didn't want to pay for it. So now they are trying to charge me $200 stating it was hit from debris which my car hadn't left my drive way in a month. I think the wheel sensor may have gotten broken when they repairs the control arm weld in June. But are trying to blame customer for it. So it's not covered under warranty.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #21

Jul 032019

Trax

  • 10,000 miles
I took my Chevy Trax in for the recall and was told the driver side needed to be fixed cause of the recall it was making a horrible noise they said 1 week to get the part in I called and they said it would be months then I was driving and it popped and vibrated under my feet so I took it in and was told it's unsafe to drive now I have had a loner for 2 months any time I call the dealership they say well others have had there car back there longer it's frustrating to be making a car payment on a car I don't have I have dogs I take places and can't cause U can't have pets in the loner car I have had my car for a year and the dealership has had it longer than I have I had an issue when they tinted my windows glass had to be replaced and trim and they sent me a faded trim and I was told that is just what they keep sending took 2 months to get my tint why am I paying for a car when I don't have

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #20

Aug 272019

Trax 4-cyl

  • miles
My car was call back for a re-call jake sweeney Chevrolet had it over a month when I received it back it was something wrong with the tires if they had replaced my tires with old tires the tires I had in there had a iron something iron in it also is making a lot of noise is waving back and forth it's very dangerous to drive and I've been driving it when I hit a bump and sways over to the left and right side other people's safety is involved to of this car I'm feared for my life it's a 2018 track and when I looked under it when they took me to look under the bottom of the car and had old parts on it was rusted and old and I didn't know anything about it please help me I live in cincinnati Ohio [xxx] is my zip code my address is [xxx] cincinnati Ohio [xxx] phone number [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #19

Jun 012019

Trax 4-cyl

  • miles
2018 Chevrolet Trax premier. Consumer writes in regards to GM safety recall. The consumer stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to complete the recall repair. The parts were not available.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #18

Jun 142019

Trax

  • 9,222 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension). The contact called ourisman Chevrolet of marlow heights at 240-455-3386 (located at 4400 branch ave, marlow heights, md 20748) and was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that the brakes squeaked. The vehicle was taken to the same dealer where the rotors were cleaned and the brake pads were also changed, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that they would contact the dealer regarding a loaner vehicle; however, the contact was neither called back nor informed when the recall part would become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 9,222. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #17

Jul 012019

Trax 4-cyl

  • miles
2018 Chevrolet Trax. Consumer writes in regards to lower control arm safety recall. The consumer stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time completing the recall repair. The consumer was informed the parts necessary to complete a recall repair were on back order.

- Rusk, TX, USA

problem #16

Aug 142019

Trax

  • miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Mike reed Chevrolet (1559 E oglethorpe hwy, hinesville, ga 31313, (855) 219-7194) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unknown.

- Ludowici, GA, USA

problem #15

Aug 072019

Trax

  • 10,000 miles
I got notified of a recall affecting the lower control arm of the car in April. On June 1st I had an appointment at don mealey Chevrolet (clermont, fl) to have it inspected and they found that both lower arm controls of the car were affected. They claimed to not have the parts and they would be ordered. I called to follow up multiple times and was told they still didn't have them. On August 7th I went in for an oil change and I was told the recall is now 'dangerous' and they have had people in loaners for up to 6 weeks now. They said they would check to see if they had the parts that day. The man said they did and that they would repair it that day. He then came back and said they can't find the parts so they have to give me a loaner. No one ever called to say that my car's recall was dangerous and I should not be driving it despite them already doing the inspection back in June. I now have a loaner and no idea when they will repair the 'dangerous' car I was driving for months.

- Champions Gate, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 122019

Trax

  • miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to valley Chevrolet (601 kidder St, wilkes-barre, pa 18702, (570) 821-2772) where it was diagnosed that both lower control arms needed to be replaced; however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the part was not available. The manufacturer provided case number: 9-5407-849702. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Plymouth, PA, USA

problem #13

Jul 192019

Trax

  • 27,000 miles
On 7/11/19 I took my vehicle into the dealership because I received notification that my car was under recall. Recall #A182202370. The car was inspected and found not to be impacted by the recall and I left. On 7/19/19 made a U-turn in an empty parking lot, I heard a loud crack and then had a hard time steering the vehicle. The right-side passenger tire of the vehicle hit the curb and then the tires were turn sideways. I called and had my car towed back to the dealership because I assumed the problem had to do with the recall. The service manager from the dealership called me to inform me that there was $2200 in damage and that the recall had nothing to do with the accident, they suggested I call my insurance company. My insurance adjuster went to the dealership to inspect the vehicle on 6/30/19, was told that the vehicle was not udder the recall. After not hearing from the dealership I called them on August 2nd and was told the vehicle would be ready on 8/5 or 6. prior to contacting the dealership, my insurance adjuster told me that the dealership re-tested my vehicle with a special tool and found it was included in the recall and that they would be replacing at least one of the lower control arms. I asked my service department contact about the re-test and the replacement of the lower control arm and she indicated she didn't know anything about a new tool and that the service department manager decided to change both lower control arms as a courtesy and she also maintained that my vehicle is not under recall. I went on to this website to find out that there is 1 unaddressed recall. I am contacting you because I don't think I should have to pay out of pocket for this repair and that the dealership is not telling me the truth about the safety of my vehicle. I am a college student and need my car to get around and it has been in their possession since July 19th.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #12

Jul 052019

Trax

  • miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to route 66 Chevrolet (8130 E skelly dr, tulsa, ok 74129, (918) 663-2300), but was not repaired because the part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and informed the contact that they would call the dealer and advise them to provide a loaner vehicle. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #11

Jun 012019

Trax

  • miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called South pointe Chevrolet (9146 S memorial dr, tulsa, ok 74133, 918-481-8000) and was informed that the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #10

Jul 082019

Trax

  • 7,500 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension). The vehicle was taken to sunrise Chevrolet forest hills (105-20 gerard pl, forest hills, NY 11375, (718) 263-7700), but the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,500.

- Howard Beach, NY, USA

problem #9

Apr 102019

Trax

  • miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Don wringer Chevrolet (7777 S general bruce dr, suite a, temple, tx 76502, (254) 598-4131) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 052019

Trax

  • miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension). Chevrolet of wayzata (16200 wayzata blvd, wayzata, mn 55391, (952) 473-5444) was unable to determine when the part would be provided from the manufacturer for over three weeks. The recall was issued on April 18, 2019. The manufacturer was contacted and did not know when the part would be available. The manufacturer stated that they would let the contact know when the part was available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #7

Jul 022019

Trax

  • miles
The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V312000 (suspension); however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (goodmark Chevrolet, 123 S elm St, commerce, ga 30529, (706) 335-3196) diagnosed that the joint control arms were not available to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Cornville, GA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »