10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
124,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #20

Jun 092021

Ram 2500

  • 211,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle was wobbling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and diagnosed that there was a thumb-sized crack on the driveshaft. The two universal joints and the driveshaft assembly were replaced. The contact later was made aware that NHTSA Campaign Number: 14V796000 (Power Train) was associated with the VIN and was related to the failure. The contact requested reimbursement from the manufacturer however, the manufacturer denied the contact's request for reimbursement stating that the vehicle was outside the warranty period and had no active service contract. The contact was also informed that the case opened did not meet the criteria for reimbursement, and that the parts requested for reimbursement was not a part of the recall repair parts. The vehicle remained at the dealer for the three recalls associated with the VIN. The failure mileage was 211,000.

- Polk City, FL, USA

problem #19

Sep 162020

Ram 2500

  • 50,000 miles
Engines needing cam shafts lifters timing chains they over heat electric fans not working batteries explode transmissions stop shifting bad valve bodies bad electrical parts these trucks are driven around one location at 35 mph or less 24-7 and parked for long times at idle. No city or hwy driving 4 different trucks at dealerships since 9/16/2020 still not repaired

- Butner, NC, USA

problem #18

Sep 082020

Ram 2500

  • 203,300 miles
The truck with attached trailer was parked on an inclined driveway. The truck was placed in park and the key was removed from the ignition. I proceeded to load a compact tractor approximately 2500 lbs. The truck started to roll down the hill and crashed thru a fence doing extensive damage to the truck. I did not try to start the truck and waited for mechanic to assess any mechanical damage. The mechanic came to my place and when he got in the truck the transmission indicated that it was still in park. Dodge told me that there was no recall on this type vehicle with the transmission not holding. The representative told me that there had been similar problems with gas powered engines but not the diesel. I would like to know if this can be evaluated for recall. No one got hurt in this instance but caused extensive damage to the truck mechanically and cosmetically.

- Kooskia, ID, USA

problem #17

May 132018

Ram 2500

  • 193,000 miles
May 2018, put truck in park and left it running to go in to get something. We were in an rv park at the time. A minute or so later, it went in reverse and backed into a trailer causing damage to both. Gearshift showedit was still in 'P'. alarm has since been put in under recall E17 after we requested it. (had asked when air bags were changed out in December 2017, if any other recalls, and were told no). A Dodge rep came on June 12, 2018 and looked at the truck. As of 12/10/2018, we have not been notified of results.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 152017

Ram 2500

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. On several occasions, while the gear shifter was in open position, the transmission shifted out of park into reverse. The contact had not depressed the brake pedal during the incident. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 17V821000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified. There were no recalls associated with the VIN. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000.

- Collegeville, PA, USA

problem #15

Jul 042017

Ram 2500

  • 375,321 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 05V462000 (power train). While exiting the vehicle, the horn began to sound and the warning indicators began to flicker independently. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer (B&B Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram 125 grandview avenue, honesdale, pa 18431), but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The contact also stated that the failure was not present prior to the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the failure was being investigated. The failure mileage was approximately 375,321.

- Greentown, PA, USA

problem #14

Feb 262017

Ram 2500

  • 270,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving approximately 80 mph, the vehicle vibrated abnormally. Within seconds, a loud noise was heard under the vehicle. The driver was able to coast onto the road shoulder and found unknown parts had separated from the vehicle while driving. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transfer case, constant velocity joint, universal joint, fuel lines, and brakes lines failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 270,000.

- Tyndall, SD, USA

problem #13

Feb 272016

Ram 2500

  • 161,926 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. While attempting to back up the vehicle, it independently moved out of the reverse gear and would not allow the contact to shift into drive. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 05V462000 (power train), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 161,926.

- Imperial, PA, USA

problem #12

Oct 102015

Ram 2500

  • 148,000 miles
The clutch pedal connecting rod to the clutch master cylinder separated from the master cylinder. It happens if you bump the pedal backwards with your foot going for the brake. Then you can't push in the clutch! you have to pull it out of gear pull over and put the rod back in. Clutch pedal comes back real far and causes this! this happens when driving and may cause a accident not being able to take it out of gear or shift if needed. I have pictures of the rod out of the hole if needed.

- Okanogan, WA, USA

problem #11

Oct 012015

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear axle pinion nut repair and driver airbag inflator recall. The parts were not available. Recall # 14V796000.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jun 172014

Ram 2500

  • 130,000 miles
I have had continuous issues with my 2005 Dodge Ram 2500 I have stated to Dodge that I have stalling issues constantly they say their is nothing wrong and the steering issues are life threatening I have spent at least 4 or 5 grand on this truck trying to fix it make it safe to drive being Dodge can't and now there is more recalls on air bags with no time frame to when they can fix and with the newest recall of the buy back theirs no recognition of it to the dealers as of yet like do I need to be the person that's just driving to work and crash due to steering loss and have the airbag deploy metal shards into my body to get some attention from these ppl would like to see Dodge do something about this

- Glens Falls, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 032015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000(power train) was received in February of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mason City, IA, USA

problem #8

Aug 032014

Ram 2500

  • 173,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated while driving approximately 57 mph, the drive shaft dislodged from the vehicle causing the contact to crash in to a wall. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the rear assembly, frontal transfer case, both front axles, cv units, ball joints and control arms needed to be replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 173,000.

- Augusta, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jan 152014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 09E001000 (steering)05V462000 (power train) and 13V528000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable amount for time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available for either of the recall campaigns. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experience the failure.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #6

Feb 032012

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
On February 3, 2012 we were passing a logging truck in a legal passing lane when all of the sudden our truck started shaking violently. We lost all steering control and had no brakes all while shaking violently and headed into the oncoming traffic lane and over the embankment hitting trees head on. We have 2 witnesses to verify everything. The witnesses both said our tires were moving a foot, or more, in & out during this violent shaking. Our truck was totaled due to this accident.

- Orofino, ID, USA

problem #5

Aug 262013

Ram 2500

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while in park with the engine running, the vehicle erroneously rolled away. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The contact was informed by the dealer that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 05V462000 (power train). The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Imperial, PA, USA

problem #4

May 012012

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 164,300 miles
Excessive vibration since purchases truck new in 2005. Replaced serpentine belt 5 times and tensioner pulley 2 times, which is about every 30K miles. Chrysler agreed to pay for the last belt and pulley acknowledging something was wrong causing the issue. The issue was not known until recently. The vibration over a long period of time caused several bolts/mounts to work loose and allowed parts to shift. The cooling fan shifted into the radiator breaking the fan blades and busting the radiator. The radiator, fan assembly and fan had to be changed. During these repairs the vibration source was found. The flywheel was bad. Changed flywheel, clutch and throw out bearing. The bearing in the flywheel was bad and causing slack which caused the vibration. The excessive vibration also caused a 5" crack in the bell housing and broke the exhaust pipe in two. Muffler shop said they have never seen a break in the exhaust like this. Chrysler is saying all of these items are normal wear and tear, disregarding the fact that earlier Chrysler agreed to replace a serpentine belt and tensioner pulley. Ujoints in the same vehicle have been changed multiple times. Very poor headlights. So bad it is a safety issue not allowing the driver to adequately see in front of the vehicle while driving during the night.

- Lebanon, VA, USA

problem #3

Nov 142011

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 35,000 miles
2005 Dodge 2500 4X4 crew cab with cummins diesel does not indicate the transmission is in park even with the shift lever in the park detent position. I complained to the servicing dealer in 12/06 and numerous parts were changed in the transmission. The changes helped temporarily but the problem came back. I returned the truck to the dealer in 2009 for the same issue and was told the transmission was performing to specs and no work was performed to correct the problem. On 11/14/2011 I exited the vehicle with the transmission lever in the park detent position and the engine running. After about 15 seconds the truck shifted into reverse backed into a vehicle and a building. Chrysler investigated the incident and informed me that the vehicle is out of warranty with 118000 miles even though no repairs were done when requested while under warranty. The truck has a factory recall to install some sort of alarm. Chrysler says the recall was mailed to me in 2006 and 2007 but the truck was at the Dodge dealership for this complaint after the supposed notification and while covered under my Chrysler 100,000 mile extended warranty for two days and the recall was not performed. Research shows this is very common with this model truck with pages upon pages of these incidents retrieved by conducting an internet search and I cannot believe a fix cannot be found for this issue or the government is not forcing Chrysler to correct the issues.

- Brusly, LA, USA

problem #2

Nov 302008

Ram 2500

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500 diesel. The vehicle was purchased brand new. In 2006, the vehicle rolled away on its own while in park. The dealer stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 07E009000 (power train: Automatic transmission: Lever and linkage: Column shift). The dealer stated that the failure was normal; however, they installed an alarm to warn the contact when the vehicle was going to roll. Several weeks later, she parked the vehicle and turned the ignition off and the vehicle proceeded to roll. The contact attempted to stop the vehicle and injured her right arm in the process. She took the vehicle back to the dealer and they stated that the 2500 diesel's were made for farmers. She does not now how to use the vehicle and believed that she must have left the engine running when the failures occurred. The alarm only warns the contact while the vehicle is in park. A report was filed with the manufacturer and they advised her to take the vehicle to back to the dealer. The current mileage was 41,000 and failure mileage was 20,000.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

problem #1

May 202005

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,195 miles
I have an 05 Ram 2500 quad cab hemi truck with 3,200 miles on it. Since new the truck has had an erratic idle and would occasionally die when shifting from reverse to drive. The PCM has been flashed, the throttle body is projected to be replaced next. This problem is getting progressively worse as the truck recently stalled in traffic three times in a ten minute period. I will also be filling a similar complaint for my 05 hemi durango limited.

- Puyallup, WA, USA