10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,064 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #113

Aug 272020

Fusion

  • 74,000 miles
TL the contact owns a 2015 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving 75 mph, the vehicle decelerated independently. The contact stated overheat and power reduced warning messages were illuminated. The contact parked on the side of the road. The vehicle was not drivable. The vehicle was towed to his residence. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer raceway Ford located at 5900 sycamore canyon blvd, riverside, ca 92507, (800) 286-9861, where it was diagnosed with needing the engine to be replaced and the contact was referred to tbs 20-2100. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- 23410 Western Ridge Rd, CA, USA

problem #112

Jul 012020

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles
When I crank my car it starts shaking really bad and missing my check engine light comes on and goes off took it to mechanic and they said it was leaking coolant into cylinder and the motor needs to be replaced. IżM afraid that it's gonna to stop going down the road. IżM a single parent and on a fixed income the cost of a new engine is half of what I owe.

- Vernon, AL, USA

problem #111

Aug 312020

Fusion

  • 76,000 miles
Ford Fusion with 75000 miles. Repair shop just diagnosed my engine issue as a coolant leak into the engine block. This is an ongoing problem with Fusion of this age. Repair cost is a replacement of the engine $8000.

- Sachse, TX, USA

problem #110

Jul 292020

Fusion

  • 116,000 miles
TL- the contact owns 2015 Ford Fusion.the contact stated while driving 65 mph, then coming to completed stop the vehicle started vibration. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The vehicle failure reoccurred after the vehicle was turned off and restarted.the vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed with needing to be replaced long block, engine due to coolant was leaking to the second cylinder.the vehicle was taken to local dealer elk grove Ford located at 9645 auto center dr, elk grove, ca 95757 where it was diagnosed with needing to be replaced engine.the vehicle had not been repaired as of yet. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and filed a case.the failure mileage was approximately  116,000.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #109

Jul 162020

Fusion

  • 68,300 miles
Upon numerous rough start ups my Ford Fusion with a 1.5L ecoboost engine, my check engine light illuminated. I scheduled diagnostic service at my preferred Ford dealer and they discovered mis firings in the cylinders. They informed me this is a very common problem with the Ford 1.5L ecoboost engine. There have been multiple tsbs on this issue which requires a new engine rebuild. There already was a recall with the 1.6L ecoboost engine. I was just informed by the dealer that Ford will not cover any expenses related to the repair. The car is a 2015 with 68K miles with all scheduled maintenance performed by Ford. This is disheartening to say the least with a complete product failure.

- Leechburg, PA, USA

problem #108

Jul 312020

Fusion

  • 84,000 miles
Bought my vehicle new 5.5 years ago and has 84,000 miles. Noticed a rumbling coming from the engine and then the check engine light came on. I looked under the hood and saw I was dangerously low on coolant. Took it to the shop and turns out that due to a defect with the 1.5L ecoboost engines, coolant was leaking into the cylinder 3 causing it to misfire. The issue is exactly what is described on the Ford tsb #20-2100. Since I'm just passed my warranty I am now stuck paying for a new engine on a 5.5 year old vehicle.

- Germantown, WI, USA

problem #107

Aug 032020

Fusion

  • 73,893 miles
Ford Fusion 2015 1.5L. Coolant system pressure tested and coolant found leaking into cylinder number 1, due to manufacturing fault. 73,3000 miles on clock. Apparently a new engine is needed. Ford will not cover the cost of the engine replacement until they are forced to. Engine can catch on fire.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #106

May 012020

Fusion

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle was running rough with the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to parks Ford of gainesville (3333 N. main St, gainesville, fl 32609, (352)372-4251) for a routine maintenance check-up. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated after the vehicle was retrieved. The contact called back the same dealer and scheduled an appointment to have the vehicle diagnosed. The contact was informed that if the check engine warning light was to start flashing that would indicate a severe engine failure. Upon investigation, the contact became aware of a manufacturer communication for water intrusion into the engine on similar vehicles. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 102,000.

- Alachua, FL, USA

problem #105

Jul 222020

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
Car stalled engine stalled going around 50 mph on the interstate brought to Ford dealership they advised to replace the engine despite the car only being a 2015 model and having 80K miles. I contacted Ford in hopes of getting some sort of assistance but they refused to help. I could have been hit from behind as the car stalled multiple times on the way to the dealership.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #104

Jul 282020

Fusion

  • 170,000 miles
Check engine light came on. Misfire cylinder 1. 2 days later the car overheated. The coolant went from full to empty. Collant went into engine. Car was being driven on the highway.

- Lake Hiawatha, NJ, USA

problem #103

Apr 202020

Fusion

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the engine experienced a misfire at start-up. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle vibrated abnormally with the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to Ford store san leandro (1111 marina blvd, san leandro, ca 94577) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 94,000.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #102

Jun 152020

Fusion

  • 56,834 miles
6/15/20 I went to dealership with check eng. Light on, I was told my engine blown up with water going in to #1 cylinder and needed to replace my engine.I was 15 days out of warenty and only had 56834 miles on car. Iicalled Ford Motor Co. They declined to help me knowing this was a on going problem. My dealership is trying to help but Ford Motor Co.refuses to step up and fix a on going problem.driveing the car will lose power and start to miss and start jerking and starts to shut down.

- Oakdale, CA, USA

problem #101

Jun 192020

Fusion

  • 80,941 miles
Bought my Ford Fusion used from a dealership at end of December with 78K miles. Check engine light was illuminating so I took the car to Ford dealership to have a diagnostic done because the car was shaking and kept misfiring and my coolant kept becoming low only after a few days. Upon diagnosis I was informed that there was coolant leak shooting out to cylinder 4 and caused damage to the spark plug that was caused by an engine defect. My extended warranty came out and looked at the issue agreed the engine needed to be replaced but they denied the claim because this is an engine defect that Ford is aware of for this model per the tsb bulletin Ford put out. Ford won't fix their issue and im here getting the short end of the stick. My car is still now in the shop as im trying to figure out how to get the money to fix something that Ford already knew was messed up. This is ridiculous. As this seems to be an issue with other owners with this model.

- Copperas Cove, TX, USA

problem #100

May 302020

Fusion

  • miles
Bought my Ford fusion1.5L used from a private dealership in April 2019 at 88K miles. Few months later notice slight drop in coolant reservoir. By March 2020, engine started shaking one day which followed by illuminated check engine light, misfiring code for cylinder 2 and 3 were pulled using obd scan tool. Spark plugs were replaced, and problems went away until May 2020, noticed a faster rate of coolant loss, then engine vibrates and idling rough. Code for misfiring in cylinder number 3. after some research over the internet, seems like it's a manufacture defect. Car is currently sitting to prevent further damages to the engine. Please help!

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #99

Jun 172020

Fusion

  • 54,000 miles
Took vehicle to dealership due to check engine light being illuminated. Was told there was coolant leaking into my 4th cylinder. Also informed there was a technical bulletin out for this known issue. Concerned about a fire. Per their 2014 Ford Fusion recall: "in the affected vehicles, a lack of coolant circulation could cause an engine to overheat, resulting in a crack in the cylinder head, " Ford reported. "a cracked cylinder head can result in a pressurized oil leak. Oil that comes into contact with a hot engine surface increases the risk of a fire in the engine compartment." This is the same issue as my vehicle, yet there has not been a recall on my year of vehicle at this time.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #98

Jun 212020

Fusion

  • 110,000 miles
Check engine light on while on highway, after getting off there was a very rough idle. Towed to frontier Ford in san jose, ca. Found P0302, P0315 PCM. Engine misfire. #2 cylinder was found to have coolant inside. A new engine log block is needed to correct this concern. This engine clearly has a number of issues, reported by many other owners. It would seem that this engine has about a 5 year life regardless of mileage. A recall needs to be issued in order for Ford to pay for this faulty engine. This is a very difficult time for many people across the country and it's only right that Ford is responsible for correcting this issue.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #97

Jun 022020

Fusion

  • 64,000 miles
Check engine light came on, had a rough idle. Mechanic notified me that it was a misfire in cylinder one, replaced spark plugs and cleared the code, was running fine. Few days later check engine light came back on. Took it to dealer and they notified me that there was coolant in my cylinder and that my engine may have to be replaced.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #96

Jun 062020

Fusion

  • 134,000 miles
The contact's daughter owns a 2015 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while her daughter was driving at various speeds, the vehicle experience random engine misfire. The vehicle was taken to gulf coast Ford (3000 N, state hwy 288, angleton, tx 77515) and diagnosed with a defective head gasket. Her daughter was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a complaint was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 134,000.

- Brazoria, TX, USA

problem #95

May 202020

Fusion

  • 33,000 miles
I sent the following letter to other agencies as well but wanted to send it to you. Since I sent the letter I have found that my problem has happened to a bunch of other Ford Fusion owners where the gasket goes bad and fluids leak into the cylinder and ruins the engine. It seems like there's a flaw in my engine model. I have an ecoboost engine and from what I was reading on carcomplaints.com there's been a bunch of people that have the same problem with their car. I'm going to copy and paste the letter I sent to you earlier today. Any help you can give me would be much appreciated. I have a 2015 Ford Fusion that I purchased new from gold mill Ford in niles, il and have all of my maintenance done at the dealer. The car only has 33 thousand miles on it and I purchased the car new from the dealer in April of 2015. The warranty just expired on April 13, 2020 and on May 19, 2020 the service engine soon light came on and I took it to the dealer. I had just brought the car in for an oil change at the dealer on May 4th 2020. I lost my job and with all the covid 19 stuff going on I never got an extended warranty. I put my insurance on the car on hold May 26, 2020 cause I wasn't going to be driving it with the covid 19 stuff. I'm not sure if they forgot to put a cap on something at the May 4th oil change or something but all I know is the car was running perfect before I brought it in for the oil change and now I'm stuck with a car that they say needs over $5030 and tax worth of repairs. I tried to get help from the Ford assistance program but they denied me any help. I was wondering if you could help me out cause I don't have $5,030 plus tax to fix the engine. What would be my options to getting help? I hope someone can help me figure out this mess and get some help. Thank you for your time in reading my story. Sincerely, michael schell

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #94

May 062020

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles
My 2015 Fusion had intermittent rough idles and the check engine light popped on. I checked out the code and it was P0301 - misfire in cylinder 1. I took it to the local Ford dealer ż penske Ford in la mesa, ca - for inspection. The service advisor had his team pressure test and boroscope the engine and found coolant residue in cylinder 1. he said that they checked for the fix to the issue and found a service bulletin about it (I found it on NHTSA website ż bulletin 20-2100), which directed them to replace the short-block - $7,000 ish dollars to fix. With just a small amount of research I discovered that this is a problem many Ford owners are having right now with this engine - 1.5L I4 F DOHC 16V. There is even an exploratory class-action lawsuit being formulated around this engine issue (https://www.newsom.law/Ford-Fusion-overheating-lawsuit.html), so it is a known problem. Service advisor said that pitting on the short block is the likely cause and that is why Ford has said to solve the problem, the short block needs to be replaced. Less than 5 years old, living in a mild climate, and the block is pitting. I contacted Ford through their online chat and through the phone and they were unable to assist me short of saying that there are no recalls issued for this obvious manufacturing defect, so there is no issue on their part. They said NHTSA has to issue a recall before they will do anything out of their pocket. Attached documents include: Transcript from online chat to Ford links to my research including example of cases on the NHTSA website with the same issue for the same car letter I am sending to Ford invoice from Ford dealer where issue is noted and sb 20-2100 is noted the Ford service bulletin referenced - 20-2100

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »