10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #39

Jul 222021

Sonata

  • miles
Fuel Pump Control Module replaced before 50,000 mi. - 58,539 mi. got my 2016 Hyundai Sonata Sport for ECM Update. Told dealership I heard ticking/clicking noise coming from engine; said oil was low and suggested oil change & low key battery was causing issues. Oil consumption was more and more 1qt every 2,000 mi, then 1qt every 1,000 mi. 1/29/21 at 90,340 mi, on the turnpike (70 MPH), car check engine light came on, car started vibrating VERY bad, pulled over & LIMP mode had activated. Hyundai dealership was 5 miles away, - found cylinder 2 had a misfire(s) - one of 2 exhaust valves burned a hole through; valve seat - damaged. Cylinder head and exhaust valves, spark plugs were replaced, & oil change. Engine light came on a couple days later car did not go to LIMP MODE. 2/12/21 at 93,466 mi, took the car to Hyundai for service again, Exhaust CAM Phaser failing, Replaced CVVT & Timing Chain Tensioner & RTV silicone. 4/21/21-103,821 mi. went for an oil change & oil consumption test, went back after less than 1,000 mi, Hyundai dealership stated that the car was.73 qts low and normal, I checked before the service, oil was closer to the "E" than "F". Dealership unreliable; did not complete test. Adding oil about 2 qts every 1,000 mi. Car was also idling weird NO warning lights. 7/22/21, catastrophic break down while driving on the Turnpike (70 MPH), car died, after all lights and gauges shot up. NO warning lights before issue. Lost power steering, coasted at 70 mph to 0 mph (in 30 seconds), barley to side of the road, late night needed a tow. Battery & Alternator fried because of this - replaced next day. Car starts now; wont get past 2,000 RPM & stalls out after 5 mins of running in "P"- NO warning lights, Engine rocks before shut off. NO warning lights on after restarting. Called HYUNDAI Corp. case sent to supervisor, no help getting the car to dealership, no rental, told not to expect a call before 8/3/21. All oil services completed at or before suggested intervals.

- Austintown, OH, USA

problem #38

May 032021

Sonata

  • 106,000 miles
Yes I was driving on the expressway I saw smoke coming from my vents. I made it to the nearest neighborhood by my home stopped for it to cool down for 10 minutes I start my car back up & it was perfectly fine by time I made it to a stop sign it caught on fire while I was in the car. The fire department told me it was due to an electric/engine problem & nothing was my fault. I don't have insurance to cover it. The next morning I found out on the internet that all Hyundai's and Kia have a re call on cars due to engine fire risk. I was really devastated when I found out that my car has been on re call not once or twice but three times. By law, iam authorize to get a car or a check of how much the car is worth. I talked to Hyundai motor America headquarters Mrs. Gretchen told me that they notify me at the address that the car was registered in & not my current address and also she stated it's my fault. Which I don't understand how when nobody called text or email me personally just to see if I made it to my re call appointment in January. Not only I had another one in March I didn't know about as well then they have another re call I just found out about in June Hyundai better and has to do something now I could of lost my life & I lost everything I had my phone fedex equipment important paperwork etc. Fyi insurance has nothing to do with a re call car. By law I suppose to get something for that

- Hornlake, MS, USA

problem #37

Feb 272021

Sonata

  • miles
I had to replace the battery within a month of getting the car, then again 6 months later. The radio and back up camera went out after a year of having it. The headlights kept going out, and eventually the wiring started burning. Battery went out again along with the alternator now. Mid drive the lights would cut off, speed thermometer would be off by 15, and almost impossible to turn the wheel.

- Aberdeen, MS, USA

problem #36

Nov 012020

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Reciban cordiales saludos, el 11/01/2020 dicho vehiculo ES usado como lyft venia de pasajero Y tuvimos un accidente. Las bolsa de aire jamas SE abrieron, echo que agrabo mi condicin. Ya que impacte mi cabeza fuertemente contra el marco de puerta del vehiculo ocasionando mi lesion cerebral. No SE, si este vehiculo forme parte del problema con el sistema takata. Lo que si estoy seguro ES que en el historial de este vehiculo estan reseado 3 accidentes en los cuales SE puede presenciar que el sistema airbag nunca a funcionado ademas de la negligencia por parte del dueo (chofer) ya que estos 2 accidentes han sido en manos de el Y el mismo no ah mandado a inspeccionar el dispositivo de airbag. Ademas de tener unos llamados por garantia incumplidos. El accidente fue ennla 82ne 2av miami fl.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #35

Mar 032021

Sonata

  • 39,330 miles
In June of 2020 I got an emergency warning on my vehicle's dash that there was a problem with the hybrid system and should stop my car immediately and take it to the dealership. The vehicle slowed to 20 M.P.H. then came to a stop, I took the car to the dealer where it was kept for 10 days, I was told they could not duplicate the problem and I picked up the vehicle. Half a block from the dealer it happened again, I returned the vehicle to the dealer they said it was a spark plug which was replaced. I expressed my concern with the car coming to a stop in the middle of traffic. On March 3, 2021, the same thing happened, a warning on my dash, the vehicle slowed and came to a complete stop. I again took it to the dealer and was told that the electronic system was having issues with the water pump and new pump would be ordered. I again expressed concern as now I do not feel the vehicle is safe to drive. I live in southern California and take the freeways on a regular basis. Having the car come to a stop in the middle of a busy freeway is extremely dangerous to me and other drivers.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #34

Feb 062021

Sonata

  • 0 miles
This is the 2nd time the 'check bsd system' alarmed. First time was almost a year ago, and the dealer change some sensors (charge me for it). Now on 02/06/2021 when I started my car in the morning and the message error appears again. Still waiting for the dealer to grant me an appointment.

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #33

Jan 162021

Sonata

  • 72,000 miles
I got the oil changed on my 2016 Sonata. The mechanic that changed my oil told me the engine was low on oil when he changed the oil. A week later I checked the oil to make sure the oil level was good still. I had to add three quarts of oil to the vehicle. The next week my wife complained about a weird smell coming from the car. I checked the oil again and the engine oil was low again. I added three quarts of oil once again. The Sonata is driven in the city with alot of stop and go traffic. Not one time did the check engine light come on to warn us of low oil. Additionally, we never observed any oil spots in the driveway from leaking oil. Now we continue to smell the weird odor and I have to add oil to the car every week. No visual oil leak is seen and the driveway does not show signs of a leak.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #32

Jan 142021

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
While driving, the check hybrid system warning light came on. This began in September 2020. I would pull over and turn the ignition off then restart the vehicle and it would be fine and light would be off. This happened a few times and then on a long distance trip I shift it off and it took about15-20 minutes to restart. The dealership said it was the relay assembly and that it was a recall. It had completely melted the casing around my battery. They replaced it for free in October. Now in January it has started the same thing. I will never get another Hyundai. This car has had more problems than my 2000 Honda Accord that has 300,000 miles on it. And my Hyundai only has 84,000.

- Ratliff City, OK, USA

problem #31

Nov 202020

Sonata

  • 120,000 miles
Paint coming off the top of the car and I have to change my front light and brake light every month it goes out

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #30

Nov 282020

Sonata

  • 78,300 miles
During long distance driving once the vehicle is stopped for gas the hev warning light comes on. The car will not re-start for 15 -30 minutes. Once restarted the check engine light comes on. This has happend 3 times. The first two the thought was a long distance drive in the heat of summer. This last time it was fall/winter so the hypothsis of summer heat was thrown out the window. The most recent time the gas mileage went down drastically and the voltage for the electric system was acting erratically. The check engine light was on for 2 days but the car was only driven to the dealer. The dealer quickly found the problem and repaired under warranty "open recall". the car has not been driven any long distances since. The diagnosis was "main relay/power relay/cable (20-01-003H) caused by T4M. Power relay module melted at relay" installed 37583-A8000-qqh: Relay-high voltage main, 37514-G0000-qqh: Relay assy-power, replaced power relay assy module per campaign "warranty" hope this information helps others....hope this is truly the fix as it is an "open recall" that should be a recall". glad this did not cause a fire.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #29

Jul 292019

Sonata

  • 106,000 miles
My right high beam stopped working, I have to add oil to my car every 3 days. Burns more gas going back and forth to work. Going around a fast highway curb, the engine shut down the speed of my car and would not stop dropping down to 45 mph in a 70mph packed highway. Awful experience. Called in the problem to Hyundai and they didn't show any care. I had an accident happen and I don't know if the electrical problem could be a result to the accidents. The case has been closed and nothing but a paper from a lawyer about getting $1000 for my car being at high risk. I have the case number available. It's been nearly a year.

- Neosho, MO, USA

problem #28

Nov 062020

Sonata

  • miles
While the vehicle is moving the check hybrid system warning light beeps and comes on. The message request to turn engine off. The gas engine sometimes will cut the power to the vehicle causing the vehicle to loss power on the road.

- Scarborough, NY, USA

problem #27

Sep 132020

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
Numerous posts and this has occurred to me numerous times within the past 2 months. After driving vehicle on the freeway, and getting off to get gas or stop to get groceries or anything, when the vehicle is turned off, check hybrid system light comes on and vehicle is disabled. Will not start or attempt to start for at least 20 minutes. When vehicle starts back up the check engine light comes on and stays on until the vehicle is turned off again then the cel goes away. Sounds like numerous people are having this issue, I however have been lucky that it hasn't shut off while driving on the freeway, sounds like many other people it has. There needs to be a recall or the car be labeled as lemon or something.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 182020

Sonata

  • 68,000 miles
At about 58K miles I started to notice when I turned the turn signal to indicate a left turn the right blinker would come on and then after a moment switch to the left or not switch at all. This was totally random. I tried to capture it on camera to show my local dealer before the 60K warranty ran out but I could never capture it because it was so random and they could not replicate it. Over the last year the issue has gotten worse where nearly every time I use the left turn signal the right signal will turn on instead. The last time my car was in for service I mentioned it again and told them I think they can replicate the issue because it happens nearly every time now. When I indicate a left signal and the right signal comes on other cars think I am merging into them while my signal is stuck. The signal stock seems to have an electrical issue sending the correct signal to the lights. This is a clear safety issue and I hope it does not cause accidents as the signals become stuck. This occurs regardless of vehicle speed.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #25

Jul 302020

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
Blinker doesn't work. Engine has a hole in it.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #24

Mar 012020

Sonata

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the ABS and traction control warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that when shifting into gear, the vehicle lunged forward. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the front driver's side cv axle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure persisted. The contact called crystal Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of brooksville located at 14358 cortez blvd, brooksville, fl 34613, (352) 597-1265, and notified the dealer of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact associated the failure with NHTSA campaign number: 15V678000 (electrical system), however her VIN was not included. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Homosassa, FL, USA

problem #23

May 042020

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 20 miles
When driving sometimes the bsd system turn off without any advance warning, this could cause accidents, the blind spot collision warning Hyundai need to be reviewed well and address the issue. Many people complain about this.

- Princeton, TX, USA

problem #22

Apr 072020

Sonata

  • 90,508 miles
I have owner this car for 2 years took it into dealership cause I was contacted that the vehicle needed a campaign update car got the update about two weeks later while on highway car went into limp mode speed dropped from 60 to 30 miles an hour check engine light came on and started flashing took it back to dealer they did another update took car about month later while on highway check engine light came on again they did another update on car picked it up drove it another month light came on again took it back to dealer the did another update and changed wiring harness picked car up again driving on the street about 30 miles an hour check engine light on again took it to dealer they said they did a lower bearing test which sent results to Hyundai America corporate office and did another update on car lower bearing test came back good came to pick car up on my way home from dealership on highway again it goes into limp mode speed drop from 60 to 30 check engine light flashing again take it back to dealership the advisor tells me tech read the codes turned off light but had it running and check engine light keeps coming on I was told tech was waiting on engineers to contact him to see what next step he should take mind you they now have had my car for almost 3 weeks by this time I reached out to customer relations to escalate case tech said a duplicate code came up on car P1326 I was told that part was replaced which would be the second wiring harness after at least 5 updates to car tech test drove car he said no lights and no metal was found /lf wiring install/noise insp also says something about wiring harness-knock sensor picked car up on 4/27 dropped off on 4/07 since picking car up seems to drive worser than it did before dropping it off the RPM gage seems to struggle to move when accerating it not happy or satisfied with work done scared to have my family incar

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #21

Feb 132020

Sonata

  • 70 miles
After filling tank for long road trips the car does not start and the check hev hybrid system light comes on.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #20

Nov 222019

Sonata

  • 68,005 miles
I stopped for gas and when I attempted to start car an alert came across my screen saying car has a hev issue and check engine light. I would have to wait for 15 to 20 minutes for my car to start again. I was assuming it was bad gas but mechanic confirmed that it wasn't a bad gas issue. I went to the dealership and they said it's a potential electric issue that my warranty does not cover. I had yet even exceed mileage above 70000 miles. I believe this is an issue that is an inconvenience to me and other drivers because it is starting to happen more frequently. This could be a father for anyone in a urgent situation and need to be able to activate the car to leave immediately. Thank you for your consideration.

- Lithia Springs, GA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »