10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,949 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Kia Sportage:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #31

Jun 012021

Sportage

  • miles
My 2017 KIA Sportage was purchased in 2016 and does not have any recalls showing under my VIN number for this issue but I have all of the signs of a serious malfunction and the dealer won't respond. My car has less than 23k miles on it, I barely drive it because I work from home and all of the ABS warning lights are on including the ABS, Hill Descent, Tire Pressure, Traction/Stability Control, Emergency Brake Light. My dashboard light to Check TPMS also pops on the screen consistently and there is a weird smell coming from my dashboard. My husband is a certified mechanic for Largo Honda and he claims it is a safety issue in the vehicle that should be recalled. In addition to this issue, my windows will not go down and this will be the third time I have to take the car to the dealer to get fixed in the short period that I've had the car.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #30

Jul 082022

Sportage

  • miles
The vehicle will stall upon starting with push to start feature and you-d only hear clicking sound.

- Indianapolis , IN, USA

problem #29

May 102022

Sportage

  • miles
I was passing a car doing below 50 in a 55. As I sped to pass him the engine seemed to misfire, the car began to jerk and I suddenly lost power to the engine. I tried pressing on the gas pedal but engine was idle. I pulled to the side shut the engine off, waited a few minutes and tried to start the engine again. It did not want to turn over, sounded like a piston had blown. I had it towed to the family mechanic whom I take all my vehicles to. He ran a diagnostics and said piston #3 was getting no compression and I would need a new engine. I bought the vehicle brand new with 0 miles, the car now has 103,000 miles, just 3000 miles over warranty, which is why I took it to my mechanic and not the dealership. I bought the service contract from the dealership so it has been completely maintained as per contract at Future Kia in Clovis. My mechanic advised me to take it back to the dealer. I had it towed there and awaiting their diagnostics report.

- Kerman, CA, USA

problem #28

May 082021

Sportage

  • miles
On November 2020 I bought my 2017 Kia Sportage 4DR FWD LX. I been having issues with the driver's and passenger windows since 05/08/2021. The driver's window will not go down, Deland Kia Dealer inspection said the rubber window channel for the driver's windows needed to be lubricated and it got fix. Now 8 months later the same situation is happening again on the the same window, the window will not go down, and the motor works because you can hear it running. On 10/18/2021 I had to get my kia Sportage for service due the right (passenger) window not going up, it was stock and will not go up at all, again the motor was working because you can heart running. I got my Kia serviced at Deland Kia and they changed the window regulator gear panel. Is working (for now) but now my left rear window will not go up and is sliding down, like it loose and the drive's windows also having the same problem. I believe all this issues are a safety concern due to; first what if that window that is sliding will break and cut someone, plus is an easy way for someone to brake into my vehicle. Also the windows not coming down, what if I had an accident and the only way to get me out will be breaking the window because it will not go down and if there was a gas leak or something I will get trap there. I looked online to multiple vehicle forums and there is multiple complains about this window issue, some believe is due to a regulator wheel malfunction or a complete regulator malfunction. At this point almost all my windows had an issue which is putting my safety and my family safety on risk.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #27

Oct 052021

Sportage

  • miles
The car start button failed to start the car. It has happened sporadically over last 4 months.It is available for inspection. I have not reported it as of today to the dealer. It is not a safety issue since it happens while parked. The cars dashboard lite up, radio was on as were the headlights and all other warning lights when I depressed the start button with my foot on the brake pedal. The only thing that was different was the brake pedal was extremely hard to depress it didn't move at all.The brake pedal was up higher then normal by a couple of inches. It took multiple times before it started.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #26

Apr 302021

Sportage

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Kia Sportage. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, several unknown warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA Campaign Number: 21V137000 (Engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer for several months. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. The failure mileage was approximately 41,000.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #25

May 082021

Sportage

  • miles
On November 2020 I bought my 2017 Kia Sportage 4DR FWD LX. I been having issues with the driver's and passenger windows since 05/08/2021. The driver's window will not go down, Deland Kia Dealer inspection said the rubber window channel for the driver's windows needed to be lubricated and it got fix. Now 8 months later the same situation is happening again on the the same window, the window will not go down, and the motor works because you can hear it running. On 10/18/2021 I had to get my kia Sportage for service due the right (passenger) window not going up, it was stock and will not go up at all, again the motor was working because you can heart running. I got my Kia serviced at Deland Kia and they changed the window regulator gear panel. Is working (for now) but now my left rear window will not go up and is sliding down, like it loose and the drive's windows also having the same problem. I believe all this issues are a safety concern due to; first what if that window that is sliding will break and cut someone, plus is an easy way for someone to brake into my vehicle. Also the windows not coming down, what if I had an accident and the only way to get me out will be breaking the window because it will not go down and if there was a gas leak or something I will get trap there. I looked online to multiple vehicle forums and there is multiple complains about this window issue, some believe is due to a regulator wheel malfunction or a complete regulator malfunction. At this point almost all my windows had an issue which is putting my safety and my family safety on risk.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #24

Oct 052021

Sportage

  • miles
The car start button failed to start the car. It has happened sporadically over last 4 months.It is available for inspection. I have not reported it as of today to the dealer. It is not a safety issue since it happens while parked. The cars dashboard lite up, radio was on as were the headlights and all other warning lights when I depressed the start button with my foot on the brake pedal. The only thing that was different was the brake pedal was extremely hard to depress it didn't move at all.The brake pedal was up higher then normal by a couple of inches. It took multiple times before it started.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #23

Apr 302021

Sportage

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Kia Sportage. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, several unknown warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA Campaign Number: 21V137000 (Engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer for several months. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. The failure mileage was approximately 41,000.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #22

Jun 082021

Sportage

  • miles
i have been trying to get my recall fixed for a month now. I took it to John L Sullivan Kia in Roseville Ca and the part was not available. They were suppose to call me when they received the part and never did call me back. I recently had my A/C repaired last week at Folsom Lake Kia in Folsom CA and asked them if they could repair the recall issue as well. They had my car since last week and provided me a rental on friday, 6/4. Today on 6/8, I am told my A/C is fixed and no part for the recall so I had to pick up my car and return the rental. I have a newborn baby and this recall is extremely dangerous and its not safe. I should not have to pay for a rental when the recall is dangerous and not at fault of mine. This is ridiculous and all dealerships should provide rental cars when a recall is very serious with the part(s) being unavailable.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 142021

Sportage

  • 73 miles
On January 14,2021 after work around 3:30 when I got in my car it wouldn't start. We checked the oil and it had no oil. A towing truck picked up my car and took it to clay cooley Kia in irving. It's been sitting there since then and I was told I needed to pay 2,600 and that's only for what they believe is wrong with it. Why am I being charge" on the recall notice says they will repair at no cost to the costumer. Am I being scam"

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 152020

Sportage

  • 78,000 miles
All 4 window regulators malfunctioned and do not work. Prevents windows and going up and down. Unable to roll windows down. Happened while car was parked.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #19

Jan 052021

Sportage

  • 60,000 miles
The drivers side rear door will not unlock. Not manually or electronically. This started 2 months ago and the roseville, ca Kia service dept. Walnuts to charge for repairs. I feel that this is a safety issue that they should repair at no cost to the buyer.

- Georgetown, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 012020

Sportage

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Kia Sportage. The contact stated the check engine warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that the engine consumed oil very quickly. Additionally, while driving at various speeds, the vehicle vibrated abnormally. The contact stated the vehicle failed to accelerate as designed. The contact also stated that while attempting to park, the vehicle stalled with the battery warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a certified mechanic who diagnosed that there were cylinder misfires and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 127,000.

- Angels Camp, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 022020

Sportage

  • 55,000 miles
2017 Kia Sportage both passenger and driver rear doors will not open from neither the inside nor the outside door handles. This is a serious safety issue with my autistic son who must climb out of the car from the back seat through the front seat. There are numerous complaints from other Kia owners about this same issue posted on here on the NHTSA website, and it needs to be addressed by Kia.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 042020

Sportage

  • miles
While the vehicle is in motion interstate or city street, the engine revs up without putting more pressure onto the gas peddle. On several occasions I had to hit the brake peddle to avoid hitting another vehicle and once pulled into the side of the road as a precaution. We first noticed this problem about a couple of months after purchasing the vehicle. I previously reported this to Kia dealership, however he indicated that it would be the alternator or something that is causing the engine to not know what gear it's actually on. This happens randomly and at any speed. The seat belt light flashes occasionally although no one else is sitting in the vehicle and my seat belt is attached.

- Uniontown, PA, USA

problem #15

Aug 202020

Sportage

  • 53,000 miles
This happened twice in 10 days. Once while driving and once in parking mode with vehicle on - suddenly the vehicle loses power, cannot accelerate, power steering is lost, and 3 panel lights turn on simultaneously: Battery, oil, check engine. Both times by turning off and restarting engine I have been able to continue driving, power is restored and panel lights turn off. Have taken both times to Kia service southside/jacksonville fl and they have not been able to identify the cause, therefore unable to fix a potentially very dangerous and life-threatening situation if this continues to happen, especially while driving. Extremely concerned!

- Ft Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 032020

Sportage

  • 58,000 miles
The passenger side rear door fails to open from both inside and outside of the vehicle. This happened unexpectedly and without provocation. There are numerous filed complaints siting this very same issue on the NHTSA.gov website and should be investigated.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #13

Apr 102020

Sportage

  • 79,000 miles
2017 Kia Sportage lost all power as I was driving down the road. No power steering no braking nothing. Smoke and fumes filled the cab of SUV. Once I got off the road smoke was boiling out of hood of car.

- Murphy, NC, USA

problem #12

Mar 062020

Sportage

  • 660,000 miles
My parking brake no longer sets, it just pumps and never locks. So I hope I don't have to park on any hills for a while. Also, my heating and air goes wonky sometimes and won't show me the actual temp or give me the option to increase or decrease in temp or mode unless I park and turn the engine off, start it again, then turn off the whole cooling or heating system and then mess with it more. My car is also often times in drive, and it'll rev up for no reason to the red line, then stall and coast to a stop. I've been lucky my kids have yet to be with me with this happening and it's been on back roads with little traffic. All these things while car is in drive/motion, except parking brake, that is obviously while in park that I've noticed.

- Belton, TX, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »