10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,056 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Volvo XC90:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #26

Mar 022020

XC90

  • 82,000 miles
The pulley on the alternator failed so the serpentine belt fell lose and ended up behind the engine where the timing belt is located. This caused the engine to lose timing and damaged all the valves, cylinders, and engine block. Now the Volvo dealer is telling me the engine can't be repaired and will need to be replaced with a new one that will cost $16,000. This happened while the vehicle was being driven on the freeway and arterial streets. The damage to the engine was caused by the failure of the alternator pulley. This should be a recall.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #25

Mar 032020

XC90

  • 44,000 miles
The start-stop function malfunctioned on my vehicle at a busy stop light/intersection. My wife and I felt we needed to push the car to side to keep from getting hit, despite flashers on. We had it towed to a Volvo dealer who was very helpful. They had car fixed next day. Said the computers or sensors not communicating. I asked Volvo if they were fixing all cars. They said moly said my car was now okay

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #24

Sep 012019

XC90

  • 50,000 miles
Stop/start battery failed. Leaked acid. Caused excessive and intense foul fumes into passenger compartment. Made the car intolerable to be in without opening windows and moon roof.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #23

Aug 202019

XC90

  • 28,700 miles
Following recall service by dealership against NHTSA recall 19V308 the vehicle caught fire. The vehicle was picked up from the dealership and driven directly home, ~16 miles. At mile ~2 burning rubber was smelled while driving on the highway. At mile ~10 some smoke was seen when stopped at a traffic light. At mile~16 the engine died as the vehicle was being pulled into the driveway. Smoke started pouring our from under the hood and fire was shortly thereafter visible. The entire front end burned. I have plenty more pictures of the burning and burned car.

- Fleming Island, FL, USA

problem #22

Aug 272019

XC90

  • miles
Very loud squealing noise started from engine bay while stopped at a light accompanied by a yellow check engine light. Noise would disappear under acceleration but return again off throttle. Dealer diagnosed as a failed ¿breather chamber¿ with the following comment: ¿if not repaired, faulty breather chambers can leak oil on other major engine components, including the exhaust manifold which could lead to a number of safety issues including fire.¿ the vehicle currently has 52,000 miles. I¿M told this is a regularly occurring Volvo issue by mechanic friends.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #21

Feb 042017

XC90

  • 20,000 miles
I bought a brand new 2016, 1st generation Volvo XC90 T6 on 10/13/2015. This car was sold to me with an engine defect from the manufacturer. It took more than two years of inconvenient, back and forth trips to the glen cove Volvo dealer to find out the real problem. The engine oil warning light started saying to add 1 liter of engine oil in 2017. Since this is a new model of the car, I thought it's what this type of required, so initially I added engine oil a few times. However, the warning continues to come back every 5-6 months. I then suspected maybe something is wrong with the engine as it shouldn't have warned me to add engine oil as it's a brand new car. I finally drove the car to Volvo glen cove dealer to request an engine check up on 02/22/2018. The first 2 times the dealer couldn¿T figure out the problem. Then, the 3rd time the engine light came on. Finally, my car was left with the dealer for 2 weeks and the dealer told me the engine has some manufacture defect. The oil was leaking from inside, not from outside. The engine had major repairs completed and a lot of crucial parts inside the engine were replaced. For example: Gasket, piston kit, plug, sealing ring, castrol syntheti, O-ring, fuel pipe, stud, cap, anti-freeze. Only one week after getting the car back from the dealer, I was driving my whole family home. We suddenly started smelling a strong burning smell. Then smoke started billowing out from the front hood. Thank god we were off high way at that time. I was able to quickly turn off the engine. I can¿T imagine what will happen if this happened on highway. This time the car got towed back to dealer.

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #20

Oct 212018

XC90

  • 89,000 miles
We own a 2016 Volvo XC90. Purchased used in July 2018. In October 2018, we had to replace the engine. There has since been a safety recall for a part that can leak that we believe was the cause of engine failure. The engine started chugging while we were on the interstate. A turtle icon came on the screen. We took the nearest exit ramp to get off. White smoke was coming from the exhaust. We looked under the hood to try to figure out the problem. The coolant was empty. There had been no warning that this was low or empty. We added coolant. We drove slowly out of the gas station lot to see if this would help. Nothing changed. We stopped immediately and called a tow. Fields Volvo madison had to replace the engine. They were unclear with us about what exactly happened. It seemed they didn't know what happened. We did research and found a service campaign S29846:coolant expansion tank bleeder hose for our model car. Several reviews from people that their engine needed to be replaced B/C of this. We asked if this is what happened and they said they were pretty sure that it was. Fields tried to help by contacting Volvo. Volvo initially declined any help. We contacted Volvo. There was some back and forth but Volvo agreed to a partial offer to pay $4,248 toward the repair cost of $12,743.42. We paid $8,657.43 for the repair. The tech's said a spark plug tip had broken off and went through the engine. They noted coolant in the cylinder. We suspected this was caused by the bleeder hose leaking the coolant, causing immediate overheating and spark plug and engine failure. Now there is a safety recall notice for the coolant bleeder hose, recall R29936, dated 6/17/19. It is attached. This oem part issue was pre-existing and unaddressed by Volvo. Our engine was operating fine with no notice of pending trouble. We want help to persuade Volvo to cover the entire engine repair.

- Lake Mills, WI, USA

problem #19

Apr 172019

XC90

  • miles
The contact owns a 2016 Volvo XC90. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V308000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Volvo cars tampa (6008 N dale mabry hwy, tampa, fl 33614, (813) 885-2717) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer confirmed that the parts were not available and provided case number: 190726'000122. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Newberry, FL, USA

problem #18

Jan 152019

XC90

  • 24,000 miles
Volvo recently had a "service campaign" for the coolant expansion tank bleeder hose. We made an appointment for the repair, but the day prior to our repair, Volvo usa cancelled the service campaign. This hose then failed 1-2 months later, spilling toxic coolant all over our driveway and down the street, which of course has many pets and young children on it. This alsocould have put our safety in jeopardy if this happened outside or our neighborhood. We participate in several carpools, and other parents rely on us to get their kids safely to the destination as well. Our local dealer was very prompt in completing this repair, but they also informed us that there was a recall on the spark plugs as well. We had no notification of such a recall from Volvo usa. I think Volvo usa is failing to take responsibility for their vehicles given the cancellation of the service campaign for a clearly defective part and the utter lack of notification of the spark plug recall. I am very concerned for all owners of the newest version of the XC90, and think Volvo needs to be held accountable.

- Bow, NH, USA

problem #17

Sep 012015

XC90

  • 2,500 miles
I purchased a 2016 XC90 in july15. Shortly after the purchase, I started to notice issues with the brakes and various other issues. I have taken the car into service 14 times since purchase with on a few for regular maintenance. Brake pads and both front and rear roters have been replaced, but the brake issue has not been resolved. I still frequently but randomly hear clicking sounds near to the brake paddle. I am mostly concerned that it happens when I am driving high speed while trying to slow down. If root cause cannot be identified after so many attempts of fixing, I worry that one day this car will kill someone. I have attached service records and a recording of the clicking. In addition to the brake, I also have many other issues which can be found on the service record, mostly recently, the car was on big smoke while I was driving and fire truck had to come for assistance. I am seeking your help to solve the problem. As I had so many issues with this car and one still haven¿T been fixed, I have no confidence to continue to drive the car

- Milton, GA, USA

problem #16

Apr 132018

XC90

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Volvo XC90. While driving at an unknown speed, the engine harness wires snapped after being chewed through by rats. The check engine warning indicator began flashing after the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to 128 Volvo cars (614 North ave, wakefield, MA 01880, (781) 224-3700) where it was diagnosed that the wiring harness wires were soy-coated, which attracted the rodents. The dealer stated that the engine wiring harness needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 19,000.

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #15

Feb 012017

XC90

  • 25,000 miles
The SUV has had lots of problems with the engine. The engine has stopped without warning numerous times while in motion. It even stopped one time on the highway. The vehicle loses power in an instance and few times we have had to tow the vehicle to our house and to the dealership for repair. Even though this problem has occured over and over (which the dealership has attributed to the pistons misfiring), the dealership can not seem to repair the issue. We have asked dealership/Volvo to buy back the vehicle as it is not driveable at all. Everytime we get the vehicle returned after the repair from the dealership, between 100-300 miles the engine light comes on again and makes the SUV not driveable. We have complained numerous times to the dealership to no avail. The service manager has confided in us that this issue has occured on almost all the Volvo XC90 from 2016 and onwards.

- Gold River, CA, USA

problem #14

Feb 182017

XC90

  • 7,000 miles
My husband, mother-in-law, and three year old son were driving in the vehicle Saturday, February 18th, 2017. As my husband turned down our road he stated he smelled smoke, but didn't realize it was coming from the vehicle. He pulled into our driveway and parked. They then saw smoke seeping out of the hood. My mother-in-law exited and my husband removed my son from the burning car. I came outside to greet them and witnessed this. He then opened the hood and there were significant flames on the driver side posterior area of the engine. He ran for our fire extinguisher while I called 911. He put out the fire with the extinguisher and the fire department arrived within five minutes. They inspected, opened the top cover of the battery and disconnected it. They reported to us that it appeared to be an electrical fire occurring at the area of the battery. After inspection by Volvo and our insurance company, the damage was determined to be caused by rodents chewing on the electrical wiring inside the engine causing the shortage and subsequent fire. The damage was valued and paid at a cost of $11,000 (covered by insurance after deductible). There are multiple articles indicating attraction of rodents to the newer soy-based electrical wire insulation. Https://www.forbes.com/sites/michaeldunne/2017/02/19/rats-new-cars-soy-coated-wires-give-rodents-plenty-to-chew-on/#2C8bcbd780ab www.nbclosangeles.com/news/local/class-action-lawsuit-alleges-rodents-chewing-eating-car-wiring-393480601.html we are concerned for future use and for the safety of others.

- Topanga, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 142017

XC90

  • 2,000 miles
Vehicle numerous times while driving with no cars around the automatic braking feature kicks in stopping the car. This has happened on local streets as well as highways. It feels like you are being rear ended and I have also nearly been rear ended. Brought to dealers and they say they are unable to duplicate it but have been turning it off on other cars because they advise they are unable to figure it out. This happens at all different speeds

- Washingtonville, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 012016

XC90 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
2016 XC90, engine is decelerating on street road going from 40-45 miles per hour, to 10 miles per hour suddenly and quickly. With closure of back door where there is no lock button to hit by accident, car is locking all doors by itself when closing the passenger door. I am aware of babies being locked in the cars due to this fault in system and my pet was locked in due to the locks locking on their own when I closed passenger door which does not have a lock button I could have hit by accident. Front end crash going off and slightly braking on highway and on city streets when it should not, nothing in front of car numerous times and is not going off when it should for instance someone cutting car off within 2 feet several times. Dashboard screen goes blank while driving meaning you can not see speed, etc.. literally every function on car randomly does not work. Battery/alternator is not recharging/maintaining charge long enough to keep auto start/stop engine feature working, which means 3.5 miles more per gallon for me with my extremely careful, not riding gas pedal into lights. Some say foot detection module is draining rear battery. It has been worked on 7 times with less than 5,000 miles. Others online have described same issues. I have invoices of taking into dealer each time. I have never reported any faulty product but am very concerned for safety features will randomly and actually do not work while driving. You ask when started- vehicle purchased in April 2016 and has been from the beginning with no remedies. I have gotten extremely low battery signals and warnings that my car will shut down in a few minutes. They seem to have taken away that warning in the latest software update because my car has less charge at times then when I originally received the warning. In other words, I no longer get the warning even when my battery is very low.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #11

Dec 262016

XC90 4-cyl

  • 400 miles
(car is 26 days old) the dashboard screen went black while driving on the highway & the engine turned off & wouldn't go over (about) 10 mph. I was able to come to a rolling stop in a parking lot, and called Volvo because I thought maybe I was out of gas, due to the screen not working. My Volvo app let me know I still had a 1/4 of a tank, but I just wanted to make sure. They brought me gas & it was not a problem with gas, the problem was definitely electrical/ motor issues. We finally got the car towed to Volvo of las vegas & they told me it was just a software upgrade needed. I feel that this is a major safety problem & does not seem like a simple software upgrade to me. I was lucky enough to not have my new baby in the vehicle when this happened, but I am a new mom & this makes me very nervous.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Dec 032016

XC90 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
When we were driving on street, the dash board black out and the car completely stop. Can't tell what speed, and all other warning signal. Re-started the car but only can go miles/hr the dashboard still black out. Get towed to the Volvo dealer. They still can't find out what is problem. Search internet and more than 10 people has similar issue.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #9

Oct 252016

XC90

  • 4,000 miles
Owned this new 2016 xc 90 T8 for about 30 days. Charged car overnight as usual. Drove it about 3 miles the next morning and suddenly car speed slowed dramatically to about 10 mph and a "car will not restart, drive to nearest dealership" unfortunately, I was not in the position to do so, so I pulled into a strip mall to safely park the car and when I turned off the car, it would not restart. Battery working fine, as radio, and lights worked, but car would not power on. Was advised by dealership, this was an issue they had just seen the week before and it was a "software issue". car towed to dealership and I am waiting to hear. It appears this is not an uncommon issue after consulting several Volvo online forums. With no drive power, this car is not able to shift into neutral for the tow truck either. Very very unsafe and it is a brand new car.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #8

Oct 162016

XC90 4-cyl

  • 13,500 miles
During driving on a local road at approx. 45 mph, the electronic dashboard disappeared (so you have no visibility to speed, fuel, warnings), the car rapidly decelerated to 10 mph and wouldn't go any faster and all non-steering controls (radio, ac, navigation, etc.) froze. It has remained that way since even after power cycling. Apparently this can be temporarily fixed by disconnecting the 2 batteries. But it can happen again with no warning. This happened to me and has happened to others I know.

- Cranbury, NJ, USA

problem #7

Sep 042016

XC90

  • 2,000 miles
While driving at @35mph on a busy city street the car decelerated suddenly without warning and the drivers instrument panel went out, giving me, the driver a blank screen. Car would not accelerate and slowed to about 5mph. No previous indication of this happening. Spoke with 2 Volvo service departments and both providers stated this has happened to other cars before. This is a huge safety defect especially on a brand new car. What if I had been on a freeway going 70mph and the car decelerates all of a sudden? very concerned that my children and I will die in a crash getting rear ended on the freeway if this should happen again.

- Seattle, WA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »