10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,184 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Jan 152014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 40 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred three times. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. In addition, the front driver seat would not remain in a secure position and constantly moved while the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #39

Aug 042014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and was able to be restarted. An independent mechanic cleaned the throttle body, but the failure continued. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system), but the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 10/07/14 the vehicle was fixed on September 8, 2014

- St. Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #38

Aug 182014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 53,229 miles
My wife was leaving from a remote work site. She couldn't start the vehicle. I went to check it out. All the electrical seemed to work fine. We would get a single loud click from the starter. We towed it home. I went to replace the starter and found that the connector for the power wire from the ignition switch was melted and brittle. Believing the starter to be bad, I replaced it and fixed the connector to the starter. Still had the same loud click. I took the old and new starter to O'reilly auto parts and had them tested. The old starter did come back bad. The new starter was still good. I also had them test the battery and the alternator. Everything came back good. I took everything home. I hooked everything back up. Still the same response. After the 25th time of trying to start it, we began to no longer have the clicking noise. Just silence. The vehicle will not start or turn over. It is a no crank/no start issue. It is believed that we have a bad ignition switch or bad win. I cannot do any more diagnosing myself nor do I have the financial capacity to take it to a dealer to have investigated. I have emailed nick cappa but am not expecting a positive response as the dealership claims that our particular van is not covered under the current recall, even with the recall expansion. So the van will be sitting here with a new motor(separate issue) at only 53K.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #37

Jul 292014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,850 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact noticed smoke rising from the hood of the vehicle and all electrical power failed. The contact stated that flames ignited from the wheel wells and underneath the hood. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The fire department extinguished the fire. The vehicle was towed to a salvage yard. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,850. Updated 10/1/14 updated 5/12/2015

- Rices Landing, PA, USA

problem #36

May 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
While driving the ignition switch turned to accessory stopping the engine. I pulled to the side of the road, stopped and restarted. It happened again a month later on the freeway. Tried to restart engine while driving - did not restart until I moved shift lever to neutral. On 7/8/14 I took the car to the dealer and the service representative said "I was able to get it to do it". I contacted Chrysler twice that day ([xxx] and another) but they refused to pay because not recalled yet! I paid $588.89 for repair out of pocket rather than chance a failure on winding mountain roads. Two additional points: 1. for six months the key would spring back to accessory when starting. Precursor of problem. 2. they know of the problem on the 2009 T & C as reported by [xxx] in detroit free press (about 7/1/14). Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #35

Jul 232014

Town & Country

  • 109,579 miles
This is a follow up to ODI number 10604831. Soon after I filed this complaint; I attempted to start the vehicle and there was only a small detected attempt when I turned the ignition switch. I followed up 5 to 6 more attempts and it started normally, I noticed when I would be unsuccessful at engaging the switch, it did not draw any current or effect the light. This continued not wanting to start over the past 3 to 4 weeks, I would estimate 12 to 15 times. There were times, it took longer--putting in neutral, to using my wife's key before it would start. I was getting nervous to thinking one of these times it would not be starting or to die in traffic. So today I had mills dealership here in willmar install a new switch....thinking my problems would be solved, think again. The short time I drove it this afternoon. The engine died when I went to slow up for a stop sign, which is usually when it would happen. Also starting it once it took 3 twist of the switch before it started, which was an improvement. Can I get a call from a specialist to what may be going on, I do some answers.

- Willmar, MN, USA

problem #34

Jul 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 85,100 miles
On 7/11/14 at approximately 7:00 pm my daughter was driving my minivan to the store. We were up North near gladwin, mi for a long weekend. When she returned she reported the "car had just stopped running". I asked her did it stall or have an engine problem? she replied no it just shut off and was difficult to steer. The next day, 7/12, the same thing happened. Luckily both times the vehicle was on a country road with no one else around. The following day, 7/13, we needed to return home. I was very nervous about driving the vehicle but needed to get it home. We drove approx. 120 miles, mostly freeway, and twice it again shut off with no warning. Very scary and luckily I was able to pull onto the freeway shoulder both times with no crash/injuries. Unfortunately I have been on the phone with Chrysler and they are unwilling to resolve the issue. They are telling me the recall isn't "ready" yet and I will have to have the vehicle repaired at my expense.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #33

Dec 162013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
We were driving on a city street when the car lost all power. It was brought to a halt after we were able to steer to the side out of the way of traffic. When we were able to restart the engine it performed without additional problems until we reached home. The car also performed exactly as it did on December 16,2013, onjune 15, 20,14.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #32

Jun 032013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
While driving (happens at all speeds - 35, 50, 70, etc.), complete power to the vehicle is killed. This is very scary when it occurs. We lose power steering, brakes, and I'm assuming air bags as well. We have had several close calls with entire family in car but have been lucky to avoid crashing into other cars, cement walls, etc. This has been occurring for over a year now at random intervals. We have taken the vehicle into a licensed shop (mastertech) for inspection but they have not been successful in diagnosing. I'm fearful this is an issue similar to the GM issue that has caused several deaths. I don't want my family or myself to be the next victim. Please help!

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #31

Jan 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
I was driving at approximately 45 mph when my T&C Chrysler minivan just shut off. I had to "arm-strong" steer it to the side of the road and restart it. Luckily I was not on the highway. Now the key fob randomly gets stuck at 'accessories' and I am not able to turn the car off. Apparently the ignition does not know the car is in park as well. When I get to my destination, I am faced with having to either leave the key in the ignition with power being drained from the battery (since thing are still on)..or continually driving around and park, drive around and park, until the key will come out. This is an on going problem. I have taken it to my mechanic he googled and found other Town and country mini vans have been reported with the same problem, including shutting off while being driven going back as far as 15 years! there is clearly a manufacture defect with the ignition. On a separate occasion, my passenger side air bag opened while I was driving. I pushed it back in place...but since I hit noting, I don't know why it opened up to begin with. Except for after reading about the faulty GM ignition and how it affected the air bags. Now I have no idea if the air bags will work or not when needed. I have complained to Chrysler openly and repeatedly on their twitter account and their facebook page, they messaged me once through facebook and said they closed my complaint (but without ever having spoken to me). And they are continuing to ignore me. The problems I am having with my ignition are the very same problems owners of the recently recall defective GM ignitions are having. I have no doubt the ignitions are one in the same. I want this dealt with while it is fresh in the minds of people who demanded the GM recall! I want something done today! I'm afraid of my own car! ps the engine lags as well.. the RPM's drop below the mph randomly.

- Oregon City, OR, USA

problem #30

Dec 272013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
While driving on the freeway, going uphill at about 55mph, my engine suddenly began revving and the van sped up, then, I was unable to get it to accelerate. I pushed the gas pedal, but it wasn't engaging the engine. The RPM's would go up, but there was no affect on the van speed. The terrain changed, so then I began going downhill and I continued trying to get the van to accelerate to avoid being rear-ended. Finally, the engine engaged and I was able to speed up. This happened one more time during that trip. It has happened a couple of other times since then, briefly, but yesterday, it happened, and I again, was nearly rear-ended, and I had to coast into a parking lot to get out of the way of traffic. (the "check engine" light has never come on while this was happening.) I went to a mechanic who then test-drove the van, but was "unable to duplicate the problem." I drove the van home and the problem happened throughout my trip (speeds ranging from 30-45 mph.) it wasn't until I finally made it home and was parking the van in front of my house that the "check engine" light finally came on. I then took the van to a local auto parts store that will run codes after the engine light comes on. It gave a code for several possible causes, which included electrical issues. Unfortunately, the guy cleared the code, and I am not able to drive the van in order to see if the engine light will come back on. (he did, however, write down what the code could be an indication of - 4 different issues to choose from.) this is a very dangerous issue, and I have read of numerous other complaints similar to this. Please, look into this matter and do a recall of these vehicles before tragedy strikes!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #29

Oct 202013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 66,419 miles
The first incident occurred when the vehicle was in motion going about 40 miles an hour when the engine shut off with power steering and brake pressure loss. The ABS and traction control light came on. The vehicle was able to be moved over to the side of the road without incident. Restarted the vehicle and it operated as normal. The second incident occurred while moving the vehicle around 5 miles an hour when the engine shut off again. Power steering and brakes failed to work. The third incident occurred traveling about 30 miles an hour with the same issues as above. The vehicle has been at the dealer twice with no solution at this time. There is a recall after the timeframe of this vehicle manufacture for the ignition module 11V139000. It would seem the recall needs to be extended as there are more issues related to the engine stopping for more than just the 2010 model.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #28

Mar 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 88,500 miles
This is the letter I sent to Chrysler corporation. I am reporting the occurrence of unexpected engine shutoff and loss of power for my 2009 Chrysler Town & Country minivan. This has occurred 3 times over the past four months with the first occurrence on 30 November 2013; the last occurrence on 11 March 2014; and another time between those occurrences. The below description characterizes each of the incidents: - without warning the engine shut off - there was a complete loss of power steering and brakes - it took extreme force to stop the vehicle and turn the vehicle off the road out of the traffic flow due to the loss of power steering and power brakes. - the console remained lit - all the loss of engine cutoff incidents occurred without warning I have contacted the local dealership service shop about the problem. I was told that they have no information about the problem, and would have to try to recreate the problem to address the solution. I contacted the Chrysler corporation customer service (on 28 March 2014) and was told that they have no knowledge of any service bulletin associated with this problem. This of course is a very scary situation given that another loss of power can occur again without warning. This clearly will put the riders in danger. I was fortunate during the last three occurrences, but that may not be the case the next time. I know from internet searches that this problem has occurred with other Town and country vans. This is a problem that the Chrysler corporation should investigate. It is potentially a life threatening flaw in the vehicle that can only be addressed by a corporate level investigation, analysis, and solution. Note: This problem is the same issue that was the subject of your recall for 2010 minivans (NHTSA recall: 11V139000).

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #27

Mar 202014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that while traveling at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact also stated that none of the electrical components functioned. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available. Updated 5/27/14

- Kankakee, IL, USA

problem #26

Dec 142010

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving along a smooth road, not accelerating or stopping when the engine shut off. This has happened 3 times. I was able to get off the road one of the times, the other two I could restart the engine without having to stop. This makes driving this car a hazard to drive. All I get from the dealer is I can trade it in if it bothers me.

- Northport, MI, USA

problem #25

Jan 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Driving down the road the car turned off. Don't know if my knee hit the key chain to turn off the car or if the car just turned off. I was driving straight and turned the car back on and it was ok. If I would of been on a curve it might have been different. I have since then bought a quick release lock so my keys are not attached to the key for the van. Haven't had any problems as of yet. But I just bought it. Just think the design of the car could be different to have the key placement somewhere else or change how the key fits into the car to avoid this from happening.

- Port Byron, IL, USA

problem #24

Nov 182013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 593,000 miles
On around November 18, 2013, about a week after trip to Chicago and during an overnight cold snap (about 25 degrees from 45), was pulling out of driveway when I put my foot on gas pedal it made a sound as if the gas wasn't reaching the necessary area to make it move forward--the esp/bas lights and the traction light lite up. I pushed gas pedal again and it made the same sound but the car moved a little faster as I rolled onto the street. The lights from esp/bas and traction stayed on. Drove about 10 miles to work. No other incident with gas pedal but lights stayed on. On December 2, the same incident happened with the gas pedal, but only after I had driven about a mile. I put my foot on pedal and gas gurgled and the esp/bas and traction lights came on while the car seemed to want to use it's traction even though there was no snow or ice on the ground. Took to dealer and was told that the angle sensor needed to be replaced and that the clock spring was defective. Stated not under the life time power train and no recalls.

- East Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #23

Dec 012013

Town & Country

  • miles
The doors randomly open on their own. The car will be turned off, no one has the key, and the door will come open. I have had two new batteries within the last year and the car constantly will not start especially if it is cold out. While driving, the hazard lights will flash.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #22

Sep 132013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
My wife was driving our 2009 Chrysler town and county down the road when the vans engine completely turned off as if she shut the ignition down. Thankfully my wife was able to coast into a parking area where after some time she was able to restart the van and proceed on her way. Numerous times I have tried to start the van and the engine would not turn over until the key was taken out and flipped around and then it would start. Two days ago the van would not start at all but all if the key fob functions worked and all of the electrical gauges came on. After the van was towed to the dealership I was contacted and told that a new win module and key fobs would have to be purchased costing approximately 800 dollars.

- Boardman , OH, USA

problem #21

Oct 022013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Driving down the road and vehicle shut off causing the vehicle to lose power steering and brakes. Was able to pull over, put it in park and started back up again. Dealer advised that appears to be the win module (ignition) and that it is on back order with Chrysler and cannot even order the part without contacting Chrysler. They contacted Chrysler who informed them that part would not be released at this time and would have to wait due to other vehicles ahead of ours being affected. No estimated time it would be received. Wife is afraid to drive the vehicle and rightfully so as this could cause a serious accident if it occurred while driving on an interstate or around a turn.

- Foristell, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »