10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Aug 232011

Journey

  • 66,326 miles
2009 Dodge Journey SXT. In the year I have owned it, I have replaced brakes twice, as rite now I am replacing them cause they started squeaking a week ago and today they locked up. Also replacing one of the calipers. Any time I take a hard left turn, there is a loud grinding noise. I have replaced the tires already, and have had to replace the rear 2 again recently. Any time I go to brake when going over 40 mph, the steering wheel shakes uncontrollably. I have also received a recall from a local dealership for a wiring harness in drivers side. When I went in to dealership, they put it on order and said they would call when it came in, but never did. That was 6 months ago.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #31

May 012011

Journey

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the key would not fit into the ignition. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer several times for the failure and the dealer replaced the key. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, who performed a diagnostic test and stated that the failure was located at the win module. The dealer also stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system: Ignition). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was awaiting a response. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 38,000 and the current mileage was 68,000.

- New Castle , DE, USA

problem #30

Jun 282011

Journey 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Bought this vehicle about 3 mos..ago. Had 53, 000 miles. Have had nothing but problems with this vehicle. Engine light comes on and off, had it checked, stated fuel problems. Mechanic stated needed new fuel cap. Still not better. Was driving today and electron throttle came on, car act as tho it was going to stop. I pulled car over, turned off engine. Read book, than started car back up. Light went off. Also door locks lock when they want to. This car has some kind of problems with computer, needs to be recalled.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #29

Mar 012011

Journey

  • 38,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that after receiving a recall notice in regards to NHTSA campaign id number 10V658000 (electrical system:wiring). The vehicle was then taken to a dealer, but they advised him that they do not have the parts available because the manufacturer was only distributing one part every so often. The failure and current mileage was approximately 38,500.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #28

Jun 122011

Journey

  • 53,350 miles
Purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey with 53000 miles on it. The car will not start intermittently and had it towed back to the dealer. Dealer cleared the fault codes out and car started "100 times" says the service rep. Then, had to take son to hospital and car would not start. Had it towed at my expense and cab to the er at my cost. Dealer has no clue what is wrong. So imagine buying a certified used car and being in this situation. Car is still at dealership, been there for 3 days and they have no clue. They are going to start "replacing things" service bulletins state that ignition switches can go bad and should be replaced in these models. Problem is, it is intermittent.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #27

Jun 012011

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer states vehicles stalled on several occasions and wouldn't restart. The electronic throttle, engine and air bag lights illuminated a week after the dealer serviced the vehicle. The consumer asked the dealer if there were any related recall on the vehicle and they stated they were not aware of any recalls. The consumer stated two days later, he received a recall letter in the mail. The consumer stated he mailed the receipts in for reimbursement, but he didn't receive the full amount. Updated 08/17/11.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #26

May 022011

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer writes in regards to not receiving recall service the dealer informed the consumer, the replacement part was not available.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #25

May 112011

Journey

  • 35,000 miles
Bought 2009 Journey with 47,000 km's on it about 3 months ago from Dodge dealer. Have had to have the car towed twice now because it would not start. Dealer seems to be in the dark about how to fix problem. Poor, poor, example of customer service and car quality.

- New Glasgow, 00, USA

problem #24

Mar 032011

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that after receiving a recall notice regarding the front door wiring harness. She scheduled her appointment for March of 2011 and the vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised her that the part was on a universal back order and was unsure when it would become available. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 06/17/11 the vehicle was repaired on May 17, 2011 after the consumer contacted corporate. Updated 06/30/11

- Chatsworth, CA, USA

problem #23

Feb 252011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V658000 (electrical system:wiring). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told the parts necessary to remedy the failure were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was also told the dealer was only allowed to order enough parts to remedy two vehicles per week. The failure and current mileages were 50,000. Updated 06/01/11 updated 06/13/11

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 152010

Journey

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would fail to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted to report the failure. The failure mileage was 42,000 and the current mileage 50,000.

- Detroit , MI, USA

problem #21

Jun 302009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in August of 2008. I have had repeated problems with rotor and brake wear. The rotors have been replaced twice and all 4 brakes have been replaced twice with the front being replaced 3 times. The first of which occurred just past 12,000 miles. This is when brake and rotor wear warranty ends. I have also had significant problems with the wiring sensor module, resulting in stability control and anti-lock brake light to come one. I also have power ports in the vehicle that do not work as well as a lift gate that does not lock. I currently have 48,000 miles on the vehicle and now have issues with leaking. I am unsure how water is entering the vehicle, possibly thru the air conditioning drainage system. The entire drivers side floor boards are wet as well as the built in cooler behind the drivers seat being completely filled with water within several days of emptying. This occurs when it is not raining or wet outside. I now have mold issues in the vehicle. Myself and my children have significant allergies and asthma. This vehicle is unsafe to drive. The electrical problems resulting in air bag failure are defiantly scary.

- Dawsonville, GA, USA

problem #20

Sep 282010

Journey 4-cyl

  • 43,201 miles
Purchase a Dodge Journey 2009. I inform the dealer that the windows were not coming down as they should. Didn't get fixed. The keyless remote was suppose to be with the car it wasn't, they installed a after market keyless remote, don't work correct. The brakes were squeaking and could hear air within the car when applying brakes. I was told that there's nothing wrong and it was normal. It has been 4 to 5 months later now its not starting. Contact chrsyler llc, told me I had to have it towed to a dealer, get diagnose, get it fixed and I have to pay for it all and they will reimburse half for the part, labor is all on me. The vehicle has done this no start problem 3 times in 2 and half days. Also notice that the steering column gets hot for some unforeseen reason. Inform the dealer I purchase my Journey from, I was told that is normal. Still have the Journey can't trade in back because I have no money, so I am stuck with it. Having it towed to dealer to get problem looked at and all expense is on me. What do I do. I think chrsyler will not repay me. I have to borrow money to get this done because this is my only transportation. I am scared that I might have a electrical fire while driving and will not notice it until it too late. What do I do. Please help in richmond va.

- Henrico Or Richmond, VA, USA

problem #19

Jan 132010

Journey

  • 2,000 miles
At 2000 miles on my 2009 Dodge Journey I started having problems with my front passenger window sticking, and brakes squeaking. Also car not shifting when taking off and when you slow down and try to speed back up. I took it in. They told me maybe sap in window and brakes fine. Three days later window acting up again. Took it in. Same reason. Cleaned and greased. This is the eight time I've taken it in. They have replaced motors, switches, tracks, seals and now wont roll up or down. The brakes have been an issue since the start. At 21000 miles the dealer tells me I need new pad and rotors. Take it to brake shop and they tell me all I need is pad. Brakes working fine right now but still squeak every now and then. They have replaced electrical harnesses that may catch on fire. The squeaking noise now has turned into other parts that are having to be replaced. My computer chip has been reset 4 times and cheap plastic mirrors on visors and sunglass holder and light on inside roof. The springs on my back doors have popped out leaving the door stuck open. Went to eat with 23000 miles on the car and after leaving the car would not start. Called dealer and they called a tow truck and wanted me to pay for that also. My car has been in two different dealerships on 10-15 different occasions for repairs. They still have not got these issues fixed. What can I do?

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #18

Jul 092010

Journey

  • 47,000 miles
As I was driving my 2009 Dodge Journey on the highway going 70 mph it stuttered and hesitated to pick up speed. I proceeded to get on an off ramp I could not pick up speed to avoid being hit by other cars catching up to me!! luckily I made it to my destination safely!! the check engine light comes on shortly afterwards1 I took it to the dealer to find out what the problem is, they haven't properly diagnosed it right yet!! the car still dies on me while driving!!! by the way I had the car for 6 months and 50,000 miles!!! Dodge really needs to fix this problem with their creation of death!!! hopefully they will before someone dies in a car crash because their car went from 70 mph to 0 in 60 seconds!!! I took it to a repair shop and a Dodge dealership the repair shop says it needs a whole new computer the dealer say it's a bad solenoid!!! I don't know what it is and I should have to pay for Dodge bad build of this vehicle with money or my life!!!

- Macomb, IL, USA

problem #17

Feb 152010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
At 11K miles I had to have front brakes replaced. Shortly after that my back brakes had to be replaced and my back rotors were warped. The dealer told me I had exceeded the 12K manufacturer warranty and had to pay for repair. After researching consumer reviews and having read of numerous complaints on brakes / rotors I sent a letter to Chrysler along with complaints. I did not receive any letter, not a phone call, just a check for repayment of brake work. Since then I have had my censor light come on twice for the tires and up until now, after reading from this website was I unaware this vehicle appears to have problems with tires as well. My vehicle is currently in the shop. I had taken in twice for a noise that was coming from the front passenger side. The first time I was told they could not find anything. The 2nd I was told it was a computer chip that needed adjusting and it would be "fine". it wasn't fine. The noise got worse. My power locks on driver door and my remote key would not work. I took my vehicle in for both the noise and the power locks/key not working. I have been without a vehicle since Monday (it is Friday) and it is due to having to replace a wiring system and alternator. An alternator? my vehicle has 25K miles!! please help.....there are almost 200 complaints for all the same problems I am having. This is not right.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 242010

Journey

  • 21,056 miles
Vehicle does not always start when the key is turned. Sometimes it will start if all electronics are turned off. Dealer replaced starter and reflashed controller, however problem persists. Vehicle is equipped with factory remote start and "sentry key" theft deterrent system.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #15

Aug 182010

Journey

  • 12,000 miles
Front brake pads and rotors needed to be replaced at 12K miles on our 2009 Dodge Journey. Now we just had all brake lights go out. We took it to our mechanic and they found only 1 bulb bad. After the 1 bulb was replaced, all lights started working again. Why would they put these bulbs in series rather than parallel so that only the bad bulb would be out rather than all? that is a big a safety problem in my opinion. Also one tire now has a bulge in the sidewall and needs replaced. The vehicle has about 15K miles.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #14

Apr 202010

Journey

  • 40,000 miles
Brakes do not last. Had to replace rear and front brakes and rotors at 40,000 miles, only 500 after we purchased vehicle. When braking at a high rate of speed the entire car shakes and steering column vibrates violently. We have not found a solution, the dealership says they cannot duplicate the problem the car will randomly not crank. It has left me stranded twice. After sitting for an hour it will crank with no problem. We have been told that is may be a problem with the internal security device that recognizes the key.

- Maysville, GA, USA

problem #13

Aug 032010

Journey

  • 12,000 miles
I have a 2009 Dodge Journey that has stalled on me while driving twice in the last month. I lose all control of steering and interior controls. The dealer has been unable to figure out what is going on. The car has less than 16,000 miles on it.

- Cedarburg, WI, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »