10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,111 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #271

Jan 182018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall I received a postcard 01/2018 that my Ford Fusion 2009 was being recalled due to problems with the takata airbags. I phoned diehl Ford (bellingham, wa 98225) they said it was a preliminary notice. I received a letter with same information as the postcard. Diehl Ford told me I had to wait for the next letter. When I received that letter, diehl told me they were out of airbag replacements and I would have to wait for the next airbag shipment, probably September or October 2018. As of today, Oct. 26, 2018 I have not heard anything more. The car has been parked for months, I cannot drive it. I am not willing to pay out-of-pocket for a rental car.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #270

Feb 112011

Fusion

  • miles
Ford sent a recall on the airbags and not on the inflator which take longer and longer to show inflation on dash light.

- Jewell, KS, USA

problem #269

Jul 012017

Fusion

  • miles
:takata recall: Had a recall of takata inflators on right hand passenger side and was told not to use. This recall was on July 2017. Nothing has been done yet and I have not been able tocarry passengers on the right hand front passenger side.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #268

Oct 272018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall still no fix on the airbag. This angers me greatly how many more people have to get hurt or killed before Ford takes care of this problem. No rentals available so stuck with driving an unsafe vehicle

- St Albans, WV, USA

problem #267

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • 140,000 miles
"takata recall" - received first letter of notification July 2016 from Ford Motor Co., the second one December 2017, and the third one June 2018 and after calling the service department each time was told I would be notified when parts come in. So far no calls. Please advise. Thank you.

- Leeds, AL, USA

problem #266

Apr 022018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. 2009 Ford Fusion sel under recall due to airbag, requested free replacement from watertown Ford, MA. Informed no replacement parts available, they would call back when available. Got no call back after another attempt to schedule repair, earlier in the year.

- Wellesley, MA, USA

problem #265

Jan 242017

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called Liberty Ford Aurora at (440) 248-1550 (located at 900 N Aurora rd, Aurora, oh 44202) and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 12/06/18

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #264

Aug 012018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 18V046000 (air bags). Premier Ford (5001 glenwood rd, brooklyn, NY 11234, 1-888-381-4515) was contacted and stated that the part was not available. The dealer informed the contact to call back to check on part availability for months. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #263

Jan 102017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair as the recall notice was received over a year ago. The dealer (mark lerose Ford, 2764 state St, gassaway, wv 26624, (304)-364-5132) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was contacted several times and was unable to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sutton, WV, USA

problem #262

Feb 012018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall - I'm still waiting to get this recall taken care of - Ford said rental cars available but when I called dealership there are no rental cars available so I am stuck driving a car that may injure my son or other passenger. I am very angry that the takata and Ford are not taking care of this problem in a timely manner. I have been waiting for months. Why are there no rental cars available when a persons safety is involved?

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #261

Jul 262016

Fusion

  • 0 miles
Takata recall air bag recall

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #260

Jan 102017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to freeway Ford (9700 lyndale ave S, bloomington, mn 55420, (877) 755-1963) where it was confirmed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #259

Jan 102017

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
Takata recall. Notified in 2017 that car is unsafe to use. Have not used the car waiting for Ford to let us know when it can be repaired. How long is considered too long?

- Queensbury, NY, USA

problem #258

Jan 102017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair as the recall notice was received over a year ago. The dealer (keyser & miller Ford, Inc., 8 E main St, collegeville, pa 19426, (610) 489-9366) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was contacted several times and was unable to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Collageville, PA, USA

problem #257

Jun 012018

Fusion

  • miles
It's been years since Ford told us about the recall, and they still donżT have parts available to fix it. They also wonżT get a rental car for us when they acknowledge that it's dangerous and that we should żleave our car sittingż until it's fixed. How can someone leave their car sitting for years?? Ford should be required to start actually fixing these cars.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #256

Sep 192018

Fusion

  • 153,432 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact took the vehicle to anderson Ford (2500 wildcat dr, Lincoln, ne) to be repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 18V046000 (air bags). The dealer replaced the air bag inflator. After the contact retrieved the vehicle, she discovered that the upper left corner of the passenger side dashboard, which housed the air bag module, was not completely secured. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who indicated that the air bag module was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred approximately three weeks later. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 153,432.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #255

Jan 012017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. Why is it taking so long to fix my car?

- Ashland, OH, USA

problem #254

Oct 052018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). Tropical Ford (9900 S orange blossom trail, orlando, fl 32837, 407-851-3800) was contacted and confirmed that the part was not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Semi, FL, USA

problem #253

Oct 042018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the parts were not available. The dealer (rivertown Ford, 1680 whittlesey rd, columbus, ga 31904, 706-653-7420) was contacted and confirmed that parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact to get a rental vehicle from the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #252

Aug 032016

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
Takata recall. The passenger side airbag cover is half lifted up and is extremely dangerous. Could inflate at any time. No remedy yet and IżM extremely concerned this will inflate while we are driving in the car.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »